Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Archipelago» Forums » Rules

Subject: Recruitment - german rules vs english rules rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
M. S.
Germany
Illerkirchberg
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

there is a difference between the German text and the corresponding English version of it. What is the correct one?!

I will translate the german text:

German:

Page 10
Recruitment
....The player takes as many meeples of his color from the
reserve as the number of workers recruited and places
them on land areas in the regions of his choice where he
is already present with at least one active unit, active or
not
.

English:
Recruitment
....The player takes as many meeples of his color from the
reserve as the number of workers recruited and places
them on land areas in the regions of his choice where he
is already present with at least one active unit, engaged or
not.


So which one is correct?

Regards
Mario
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Steward
United States
flag msg tools
designer
Fretboard Gamer
badge
p/g
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"...one active unit, active or not" seems redundant, so I'd guess it's wrong.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Markus
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
... actually the german text reads "..., auf dem er mindestens eine eigene (=own) Einheit hat (ob aktiv oder nicht)".

So basically, you can recruit in every hex where you already have a unit that is not a rebel.

(edited to remove misinterpretation; also see clarification from Christophe below)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
S. R.
Germany
Mainz
Rheinland-Pfalz
flag msg tools
It's a fearful thing, to fall into the Hands of the Living God!
badge
Tell me, have you found the Yellow Sign?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It actually does not make any difference whether the word would be "active" or "engaged", as the sentence states "... OR NOT". That means that this particular aspect is inconsequential, of course. And as long as it is not specifically pointed out that this does NOT apply under specified circumstances (which is not the case), any other descriptive can be disregarded.

...it is one of the few instances where the logic of a possibly wrongly translated rule corrects the content...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M. S.
Germany
Illerkirchberg
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dumon wrote:
It actually does not make any difference whether the word would be "active" or "engaged", as the sentence states "... OR NOT". That means that this particular aspect is inconsequential, of course. And as long as it is not specifically pointed out that this does NOT apply under specified circumstances (which is not the case), any other descriptive can be disregarded.

...it is one of the few instances where the logic of a possibly wrongly translated rule corrects the content...


You`re right and I should have thought about it in more detail, because the sentence "where he is already present with at least one active unit, active or not" already states, that he must be present with 1 active unit. This unit subsequently can`t be inactive...

my fault...sorry modest

Thnx to all of you for your feedbacks

Regards
Mario

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Boelinger
France
Nice
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
You Can recruit with an active unit, engaged or not.
You cannot recruit if you only have rebels in a region
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.