Thanee
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) When Barbarians destroy a city, do you get a free Settler, too?

I don't think so, since it is only mentioned in the conquering city part of the rules.

2) When you advance Steel Weapons using 2 Ideas (and also pay 2 Ore), does Free Education trigger?

I could see this go either way.

Bye
Thanee
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thanee
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bonus question:

3) When you get an advance for free (i.e. via Science or getting it in the Status Phase), does Free Education trigger?

Bye
Thanee
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Marcussen
Denmark
Odense C
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanee wrote:
1) When Barbarians destroy a city, do you get a free Settler, too?

I don't think so, since it is only mentioned in the conquering city part of the rules.


Correct. They do not.

Quote:
2) When you advance Steel Weapons using 2 Ideas (and also pay 2 Ore), does Free Education trigger?

I could see this go either way.


Yes, free education would trigger

Quote:
Bonus question:

3) When you get an advance for free (i.e. via Science or getting it in the Status Phase), does Free Education trigger?


No it would not. You are not paying for the advance

Have fun
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Allan Clements
Norway
Oslo
flag msg tools
badge
Turns out Esseb did touch the flag. Don't tell him I said so though.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
marqzen wrote:


No it would not. You are not paying for the advance

Have fun


What if you got the free advance "Steel Weapons" and paid the Ore with Gold?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Marcussen
Denmark
Odense C
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Kamakaze wrote:
marqzen wrote:


No it would not. You are not paying for the advance

Have fun


What if you got the free advance "Steel Weapons" and paid the Ore with Gold?


No, only the base advance cost. The Ore cost is something extraordinary beyond that. Will put it in the FAQ.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thanee
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
marqzen wrote:
No, only the base advance cost. The Ore cost is something extraordinary beyond that. Will put it in the FAQ.


Yeah, that is what we figured, but were not sure about it (since it is also a cost to be paid).

Thanks!

Bye
Thanee
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Hammond
United States
League City
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Maybe in future additions you can put:

Gain 1 Mood token when you use only gold and/or ideas to pay the food cost during an Advance action (1/turn).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Lyons Beck
United States
Olympia
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Hey man-- smell my finger!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
marqzen wrote:
Thanee wrote:


3) When you get an advance for free (i.e. via Science or getting it in the Status Phase), does Free Education trigger?


No it would not. You are not paying for the advance

Have fun


I had a situation where I was swimming in ideas, but could use an extra mood token. I chose to pay x2 Ideas for "Navigation," instead of taking it for free (as I had "Astronomy.") The rules say 'can,' so my argument was that I could pay for it if I chose. My fellow players allowed it, but I'm just checking in if this is legal.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.