Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Robinson Crusoe: Adventures on the Cursed Island» Forums » Rules

Subject: A "Friday" + Adventure Token Question? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jason
United States
Irvine
California
flag msg tools
badge
I am vengeance. I am the night. I am BATMAN!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think I read the answer to this question somewhere (either the FAQ or somewhere on this thread, but I cannot remember the answer or find it again.

What happens to the adventure token for a given action type (build, gather, explore) if Friday takes that action alone? Does Friday just take a wound as he normally does if a ? occurs and the token is removed? The rules say that a card MUST be drawn, but in Friday's case, no card is drawn, so I am trying to understand what happens to the adventure token in this case. Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
fabrice prin
France
Paris
Ile de France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Friday takes a wound and you remove the token.

So if you roll a wound and a "?" Friday will take two wounds and you'll remove the token.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason
United States
Irvine
California
flag msg tools
badge
I am vengeance. I am the night. I am BATMAN!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
fagasha wrote:
Friday takes a wound and you remove the token.

So if you roll a wound and a "?" Friday will take two wounds and you'll remove the token.



That seems odd? As the rulebook points out you would never have 2 "adventures", the token only guarantees you will have one. Do you have a link or reference to something in the rulebook that points out what you are saying?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
René Holzer
Austria
Innsbruck
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
fagasha wrote:
Friday takes a wound and you remove the token.

So if you roll a wound and a "?" Friday will take two wounds and you'll remove the token.



Not true. Friday takes only one wound.
When you take a playeers pawn there you also only take one adventure card and discard the ? token, no matter what the die say.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
fabrice prin
France
Paris
Ile de France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It seems logical to me, but maybe I'm wrong.

When I resolve dices I do it this way : wound - success - ? as explained page 10 of the rulebook.

So if I want to build something with Friday only and if there's a ? on the building cards I roll the action dices. There's in this case only one token, the "?".

If the result is : Wound - Success - ?, I apply the wound, build the item and a second wound for the "?".

Why roll the action dice for Friday if you can't apply all effects ?












1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
René Holzer
Austria
Innsbruck
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Your example is correct. But if there is a ?-token you discard that token.

Result: wound-success-0 Friday also gets two wounds and the ?-token is discarded.
Result: 0-success-0 Friday also gets one wound and the ?-token is discarded.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
fabrice prin
France
Paris
Ile de France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes you are right. I've forgotten to write in my example that the token is discarded.



1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
René Holzer
Austria
Innsbruck
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
fagasha wrote:

So if I want to build something with Friday only and if there's a ? on the building cards I roll the dices. There's in this case only one token, the "?".


You dont roll the dices cause of the ?-token. Rolling the dice has nothing to do with the ?-token.
If you assigned two pawns to the action you don't roll the dice, take no wound, have a success and draw an adventure card (or take a wound when you assigned friday with an additional non-player pawn).
If you assigned one pawn to the action you roll the dice, take a wound or not, have a success or determination tokens and draw an adventure card (or take a wound when you assigned friday with an additional non-player pawn).

In every case, you discard the ?-token.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
fabrice prin
France
Paris
Ile de France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
René, I had written in my example "if I want to build something with Friday only", meaning only one pawn and a dice roll...

But You are right it could be understood that I roll dice because of the "?"...

I don't write a lot in english, that's why I' can be unclear sometimes.


1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
René Holzer
Austria
Innsbruck
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
fagasha wrote:
René, I had written in my example "if I want to build something with Friday only", meaning only one pawn and a dice roll...

But You are right it could be understood that I roll dice because of the "?"...

I don't write a lot in english, that's why I' can be unclear sometimes.




Ah ok...no your english is fine...but i should improve my reading
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick Louallen Jr.
United States
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So just to be clear...if I do, for example, a exploration action with Friday and the dog, so guaranteed, but there is a (?) token. He gets the wound and the (?) token is removed?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
black dog
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.