Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

King of Tokyo» Forums » Rules

Subject: Taking over Tokyo when dealing damage with a card. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Fraser
Canada
Cranbrook
British Columbia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If an out of Tokyo player damages a player in Tokyo with a card rather than dice, can the Tokyo player choose to leave and must the damaging player enter Tokyo?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Francisco
United States
Cumberland
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think it's only if you are "attacked", which is what the claw on the dice mean.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris G
Canada
Kitchener
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can only retreat if you are attacked, typically that means a claw result. However some cards do say attack on them so they would count too.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Toaster Jon
United Kingdom
Southampton
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kryyst wrote:
You can only retreat if you are attacked, typically that means a claw result. However some cards do say attack on them so they would count too.


Yep. An attack is an attack I'd say, card or dice.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Russo
United States
Lansdale
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmb
In the rules under the glossary section it says that a monster is considered attacking/performing an attack only if it rolls at least one claw symbol. It also says:

- Cards which increase the damage of an attack don't do anything unless you have one claw symbol.
- Attacks that are reduced by other effects and do zero damage are not considered "attacks"for the purposes of cards like Poison Spit.
- If a card deals damage when purchased (like Gas Refinery), this is not considered an attack. Monsters can not yield Tokyo based on this damage, and cards that affect attacks do not affect these cards.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Toaster Jon
United Kingdom
Southampton
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
el_chupacabra wrote:
In the rules under the glossary section it says that a monster is considered attacking/performing an attack only if it rolls at least one claw symbol. It also says:

- Cards which increase the damage of an attack don't do anything unless you have one claw symbol.
- Attacks that are reduced by other effects and do zero damage are not considered "attacks"for the purposes of cards like Poison Spit.
- If a card deals damage when purchased (like Gas Refinery), this is not considered an attack. Monsters can not yield Tokyo based on this damage, and cards that affect attacks do not affect these cards.


I stand corrected then, cheers for the tip!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.