Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Caught in a mechanism
Brazil
RJ
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm new to modern board gaming, although I've been playing some classics like chess and poker since forever. Right now, I'm building a collection of games based on online reviews and test drives with games belonging to veteran friends. The current favorite in my collection is RftG (with the first expansion, which I think is essential).

Puerto Rico has been on my wishlist. Last Sunday, I had the opportunity of trying it for the first time. One of the first things they teach you on Modern Board Games 101 is that PR was the inspiration behind RftG. Even knowing this, I was surprised at how closely the latter game mimics the former in terms of feel, rhythm, choices, and strategic paths. Proverbially, it scratches the same itch -- but in 30 minutes using a deck of cards and a few VP chips, instead of two hours and three hundred pieces. Plus Race's theme, for my taste, is immensely more interesting.

I liked PR -- how could I not? I would play it again anytime. But why should I buy it, if RftG delivers the same, with less?

I wonder if there are many former PR players out there who lost interest in the game after being presented to RftG. Are you one of them?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
No, both still get played.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Taylor
United States
Bellevue
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmb
I think that RftG is probably the closest card game play experience to Puerto Rico mechanically and San Juan is the closest card game thematically. I could definitely see RftG replacing Puerto Rico for some people.

I, however, am not one of them. Puerto Rico stands 1vp.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United Kingdom
Southampton
Hampshire
flag msg tools
badge
I'll think of something witty to put here...
mbmbmbmbmb