Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
17 Posts

Star Trek Deck Building Game: The Original Series» Forums » Rules

Subject: Gary Seven? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Scooter of the Ancients
United States
West Chester
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Gary Seven's text reads simply

"When you complete a Mission, you may apply the effect of another card in your bridge."

What ever is THAT supposed to mean?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vincent Mondaro
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Say you have Kirk (regular, not mirror) then you can apply the mission reward 4 times, twice for Kirk, twice for Gary.

or if you have Memory Alpha. You can upgrade a card on your bridge or in your hand immediately.

basically, anything that's on your bridge at the the you complete a mission with gary seven in play, you can duplicate. remember, though, you can only use the faceless crew abilities once per completed mission, so you don't get to upgrade 2 ensigns, for example, with gary's ability.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Jones
United States
Wilsonville
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
My interpretation is that you can pick another card in your bridge and repeat whatever effect is stated in the text area. It doesn't seem as though it would be a very powerful card as you are not likely to need to do this AFTER you've completed a mission. I think, at best, you could copy a basic character's XP reward or maybe duplicate a trashing effect if you have one somewhere.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Bykov
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
davypi wrote:
My interpretation is that you can pick another card in your bridge and repeat whatever effect is stated in the text area. It doesn't seem as though it would be a very powerful card as you are not likely to need to do this AFTER you've completed a mission. I think, at best, you could copy a basic character's XP reward or maybe duplicate a trashing effect if you have one somewhere.


This is correct. Choose a card in your bridge and apply it's text.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mercutio Wycliffe
msg tools
mbmbmb
VinnieM316 wrote:
Say you have Kirk (regular, not mirror) then you can apply the mission reward 4 times, twice for Kirk, twice for Gary.

or if you have Memory Alpha. You can upgrade a card on your bridge or in your hand immediately.

basically, anything that's on your bridge at the the you complete a mission with gary seven in play, you can duplicate. remember, though, you can only use the faceless crew abilities once per completed mission, so you don't get to upgrade 2 ensigns, for example, with gary's ability.

By your logic, Kirk would actually enable you to apply a Mission's Reward a total three times: once for the Mission, twice for Kirk. I don't think this is how Kirk is meant to work, therefore, having Gary Seven in your bridge would still only let you apply the Reward twice, not five times.

Gary can enable you to copy the XP off of a Basic Character, but you could only apply the second part if you did not apply it on that Character, which would be silly. Other uses might be to duplicate Federation Spock's ability or any of the Terran Empire characters.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Brannon
United States
Harvey
Louisiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
TribbleOfBorg wrote:
VinnieM316 wrote:
Say you have Kirk (regular, not mirror) then you can apply the mission reward 4 times, twice for Kirk, twice for Gary.

or if you have Memory Alpha. You can upgrade a card on your bridge or in your hand immediately.

basically, anything that's on your bridge at the the you complete a mission with gary seven in play, you can duplicate. remember, though, you can only use the faceless crew abilities once per completed mission, so you don't get to upgrade 2 ensigns, for example, with gary's ability.

By your logic, Kirk would actually enable you to apply a Mission's Reward a total three times: once for the Mission, twice for Kirk. I don't think this is how Kirk is meant to work, therefore, having Gary Seven in your bridge would still only let you apply the Reward twice, not five times.

Gary can enable you to copy the XP off of a Basic Character, but you could only apply the second part if you did not apply it on that Character, which would be silly. Other uses might be to duplicate Federation Spock's ability or any of the Terran Empire characters.


I don't understand what you mean by five times. Kirk allows you to apply the mission reward twice, Gary Seven allows you to reuse Kirks effect, so you apply the mission reward twice again. That's four times, not five and not three.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mercutio Wycliffe
msg tools
mbmbmb
Read the Kirk card again, carefully. Kirk allows you to apply the reward "TWICE" and exactly "TWICE," not "one more time," not "twice more ," and not "twice as many times". If you used Gary Seven to copy Kirk's effect, you could still only apply the reward exactly "TWICE."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Rooks
Japan
Kobe
Hyogo
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
TribbleOfBorg wrote:
Read the Kirk card again, carefully. Kirk allows you to apply the reward "TWICE" and exactly "TWICE," not "one more time," not "twice more ," and not "twice as many times". If you used Gary Seven to copy Kirk's effect, you could still only apply the reward exactly "TWICE."


Kirk does it twice, and Gary does it twice. That's four times.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mercutio Wycliffe
msg tools
mbmbmb
jigmelingpa wrote:
TribbleOfBorg wrote:
Read the Kirk card again, carefully. Kirk allows you to apply the reward "TWICE" and exactly "TWICE," not "one more time," not "twice more ," and not "twice as many times". If you used Gary Seven to copy Kirk's effect, you could still only apply the reward exactly "TWICE."


Kirk does it twice, and Gary does it twice. That's four times.

If Kirk does it twice, Gary does it twice, and the mission does it once, that is five times. The correct interpretation of Kirk is that you do it twice instead of once. If you copy Kirk's effect using Gary's effect, Gary allows you to apply the reward twice instead of twice. Yes, you read that right. Gary's effect becomes redundant and useless.

Consider this though: Kirk and Gary alone can complete The Apple using Diplomacy. If the reward is applied four times, your opponents each have only one card left in their hand for their turn. Suppose they complete The Way to Eden with some Attack help. Instant death for all opponents because they are looking down the barrel of 12 damage. Do you really think the designer intended for this?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Rooks
Japan
Kobe
Hyogo
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
TribbleOfBorg wrote:

If Kirk does it twice, Gary does it twice, and the mission does it once, that is five times. The correct interpretation of Kirk is that you do it twice instead of once. If you copy Kirk's effect using Gary's effect, Gary allows you to apply the reward twice instead of twice. Yes, you read that right. Gary's effect becomes redundant and useless.


That is your interpretation (at least until we hear conclusively from Alex), not necessarily the correct one.

Another interpretation is that each card allows you to apply the reward twice. In mathematical formula, it would look like this:

(2x1) + (2x1) = 4
[Kirk] [Gary]

This is a perfectly acceptable interpretation as well. It's impossible to tell for sure just by reading the wording on the card.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Brannon
United States
Harvey
Louisiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
TribbleOfBorg wrote:
If Kirk does it twice, Gary does it twice, and the mission does it once, that is five times. The correct interpretation of Kirk is that you do it twice instead of once. If you copy Kirk's effect using Gary's effect, Gary allows you to apply the reward twice instead of twice. Yes, you read that right. Gary's effect becomes redundant and useless.


Why apply the award twice instead of twice? That makes no sense. You apply Kirk's effect, and then apply Kirk's effect again. Simple. Two seperate actions that result in four times the mission effect.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mercutio Wycliffe
msg tools
mbmbmb
Assuming you are correct, if Gary's effect is applied in addition to Kirk's effect, then wouldn't Kirk's effect be applied in addition to the missions effect? For example:
_1 REWARD: Do X
+2 Kirk: Do X TWICE
+2 Gary: Do X TWICE
=5
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Bykov
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
I apologize for the confusion of Kirk's effect, it was intended to allow you to apply the effect 2 times total. Not 3 times. It may have been clearer to write An Additional Time or Twice Instead.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Rooks
Japan
Kobe
Hyogo
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Alex! So in this case, if Gary is also in play, does his ability double it again?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Bykov
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
The outcome should be:
Apply Mission Effect once for itself.
Apply Mission Effect for Kirk's Effect.
Apply Mission Effect for Gary Seven Effect choosing Kirk.

Thus a total of 3 times.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mercutio Wycliffe
msg tools
mbmbmb
ABykov wrote:
The outcome should be:
Apply Mission Effect once for itself.
Apply Mission Effect for Kirk's Effect.
Apply Mission Effect for Gary Seven Effect choosing Kirk.

Thus a total of 3 times.

So... we were all wrong.
Thanks, Alex.
I apologize for speaking out of turn about "the correct interpretation."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vincent Mondaro
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ABykov wrote:
The outcome should be:
Apply Mission Effect once for itself.
Apply Mission Effect for Kirk's Effect.
Apply Mission Effect for Gary Seven Effect choosing Kirk.

Thus a total of 3 times.


Thanks Alex. Good thing this hasn't actually come up in our game yet. We do all love Gary Seven though :-D
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.