Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Arkham Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: Wording Issue rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Oscar R.
msg tools
I need clearing up on this wording issue that came up recently:

"Touring the perfumed jungles of Kied, you come across an ancient ivory palace. Pass a Luck (-1) check to explore it without getting caught. Draw 1 Spell. If you fail the check, lose 1 item of your choice."

Does this mean you Draw 1 Spell anyway, then if you fail the check you lose 1 item? Or do you need to pass it to draw the Spell?

Thanks!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tibs
United States
Amherst
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't have much to opine here except to suggest that if you were supposed to draw the spell regardless, they would have put that before the Luck check.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay K
United Kingdom
West Malling
Kent
flag msg tools
designer
Nothing to see here. Please move on
badge
It's about time!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, pass to draw
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chester
United States
Temple
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I agree that this is poorly worded. I've wondered the same thing, but we're had a pretty easy time deciding that the spirit of what was intended meant you don't draw UNLESS you pass. I believe there are other cards that have similar word constructions.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Woody
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mb
With Arkham, its easy. If ever there is a way to make something harder, that is the way you go.

Gotta love Arkham
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan
Belgium
De Haan
flag msg tools
admin
designer
I love cargo biking!
badge
...and videogaming, boardgaming, RPG'ing and helping users as an admin!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I would say the same you need to pass the luck check to be able to draw the spell. If it fails you loose an item.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Sherlock
United States
Anaheim Hills
California
flag msg tools
badge
Admin @ www.cigargeeks.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If the intent was to draw a spell no matter the result of the roll, then the draw a spell statement would have preceded the skill check statement.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.