Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

GolfProfi» Forums » Rules

Subject: Penalty drop rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Richard Morris
Scotland
Harrogate
North Yorkshire
flag msg tools
designer
Join the BGG Folding @Home Team !!
badge
This user had more :gg: than sense
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This is probably more a golf rule than a GolfProfi rule, but anyway:

Where do you drop the ball if you run past the hole into a water hazard (easy on hole #1, etc)? If you drop it where it ran into the water, is that not nearer to the hole? Given the not very clear explanation in the rules, is the only legal thing to replay the shot from where you originally played it from back down the fairway?

Why are there 5 shaded dropping squares in Pic 6a? From the description in the text, only one of these is valid for the shot as played (the one by the water that the yellow line crosses over). So is the pic wrong, or the description?

From the description of Pic 6a., that description is superfluous because the only legal drop point is the first legal drop point on the description that accompanies Pic 6b. So, again, do we have a description issue or a picture issue? The picture carefully shows a simple line extension example. But the point at which a ball crosses the water will not necessarily be on a nice clean 30 degree angle from the hole. So, for example, if the starting point for the shot was one hex right/up from the place shown, the hex where you entered the hazard would similarly be one hex up/right. There is no straight line from that hex to the hole. So where does the backward extension of that line go? Do you just eye it and hope for the best?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Bedard
United States
Somerville
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Came here hoping to find an answer for this very question.

It's my first play and I too am finding things a bit vague at times
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.