Don McCalmon
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I've read the rules over several times, and this is the one question I haven't seen a direct answer for.

Let's say I have a flight of 5 aircraft, all named pilots. When they are visually sighted, do I....

1. place a non-named counter on the map, of the plane type from their squadron (like a generic SPAD VII)
2. place the flight leader's counter on the map
3. stack all 5 named counters on the map

I'm leaning toward #1 above.

I saw that if planes break off from the main flight, you put their individual counters on the game board as they try and make their way back home.

I'm still wrapping my head around combat, but otherwise I think I have a handle on the game.

Thanks,
Don
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ty Snouffer
United States
Downers Grove
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Don. Hope you are enjoying this great game . . .

Yep, you are right with #1.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Keith Mageau
United States
Summerville
South Carolina
flag msg tools
Check out my blog at www.rollingboxcars.com
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That answers my question as well.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ty Snouffer
United States
Downers Grove
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, #1 is the norm (planes in a flight move and task and fight together)

#2 is when individual planes break off due to damage, leaving another counter for the rest of the healthy flight

#3 is a completely different game of tactical WWI combat

Cheers . . .
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Don McCalmon
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Ty
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Wedge
United Kingdom
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, it's number 1. Rule 8.1 is the place you were looking for, it describes Visually Sighted (Visual ID) and has a picture of the kind of counter to use at the end of the paragraph.

8.32 also mentions flipping a counter to its visually identified side.

Note that you don't place any old flight counter that matches the plane type for the flight, you should use the proper counter with the correct squadron/Jasta notation and correct flight ID if it's RFC.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.