Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Age of Steam» Forums » Rules

Subject: connecting track to a city rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ryan O'Rourke
United States
Tobyhanna
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
In the rules under Building Track, it says "The very first Track tile every player builds at the start of the game must be adjacent to a City and one end of the track on this simple Track tile must connect to the City."

Does this mean you can only connect simple track tiles to a City? Or is it OK to connect complex (crossing/coexisting) track tiles to a City?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
W. Eric Martin
United States
Apex
North Carolina
flag msg tools
admin
designer
badge
Avatar
facesnorth wrote:
Does this mean you can only connect simple track tiles to a City? Or is it OK to connect complex (crossing/coexisting) track tiles to a City?


No, and yes, assuming you mean "connect only" and not "only connect."

Don't read more into the rule than what's there. The rule sets a condition for the first tile played by each player and nothing more. Winsome rules tend to be extremely tight, stating exactly what they mean and leaving no room for interpretation. If you couldn't place a complex tile next to a city, the rules would say so.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phillip Lerche
United States
Unspecified
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
facesnorth wrote:
In the rules under Building Track, it says "The very first Track tile every player builds at the start of the game must be adjacent to a City and one end of the track on this simple Track tile must connect to the City."

Does this mean you can only connect simple track tiles to a City? Or is it OK to connect complex (crossing/coexisting) track tiles to a City?


As long as all track segments of incompleted links can be traced back to a city you can place complex track in this way.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.