Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Android: Netrunner» Forums » Rules

Subject: Replacing Ice rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Burton
msg tools
Ok so from the server out I have Ice1, Ice2, and Ice3.

Does new Ice have to go on the end (eg. after Ice3) or can I replace Ice2 with AceA?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Stahler Jr.
United States
Wheelock
Vermont
flag msg tools
Check out Truesight and other award-winning fiction at davidstahlerjr.com!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe you can discard any piece of ice, but the next piece of ice you play has to go on the outside. In other words, you can't swap an inner piece of ice for a new one. When you get rid of an inner piece of ice, the outside ones just all move up a level.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Rampson
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When you install a piece of ICE, you can uninstall any other pieces of ICE. However, the existing ICE slides back toward the server to fill the "hole" so new ICE is always placed at the end (outside) of the server.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Grell
United States
Winter Haven
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct, you can trash an installed piece of ICE on a server to lower the install cost of the new ICE. If you do this, any other installed ICE shift, maintaining the same order, to fill in any empty spots and the new ICE is installed in the outermost position.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rules, p13:
Ice– Ice can be installed in front of any server in order to
protect that server. After a piece of ice is installed in front of
a server, it is dedicated to that server and cannot be moved or
rearranged.
When the Corporation installs a piece of ice, he must install
it in the outermost position in front of the server and pay
an install cost equal to the number of pieces of ice already
protecting that server. The outermost position is the position
farthest from the server, in front of any other pieces of ice that
are protecting the server.
When installing ice, the Corporation can first trash any ice
protecting that server in order to reduce the install cost. Then,
he installs the new piece of ice in the outermost position in
front of the server.

Emphasis in the rules on 'MUST'
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.