Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Naval War of 1812» Forums » Rules

Subject: Crossing the T rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Contemptus Mundi
United States
Cedar City
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you are attacked by a ship and they are crossing your T and firing at your bow or stern, do you roll any dice as the defender? The rules state that you can only attack from your broadsides, but I'm unclear about defending an attack to your bow or stern.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
grant wylie
United States
va. beach
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, the Defender still rolls dice when their T is crossed.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roger Masters
United States
flag msg tools
LoweringTheBar wrote:
If you are attacked by a ship and they are crossing your T and firing at your bow or stern, do you roll any dice as the defender? The rules state that you can only attack from your broadsides, but I'm unclear about defending an attack to your bow or stern.


I don't know where the other guy got his info, but I read the same things in the rules: you can only fire from the broadsides. So, it seems kind of a moot point to get the +1 fire advantage. That being said, I made a house rule where a Defender can roll only one die wherein the attacker has crossed the T.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin S
United Kingdom
Bedfordshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We play that the defender roles normal number of dice but if he wins then no damage is taken or inflicted. In essence it becomes a "saving role".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.