Recommend
7 
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

Mage Wars Arena» Forums » General

Subject: Commonly overlooked rules. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
tim meyer
United States
Mequon
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey all!

I'm going to be trying my first game of Mage Wars tonight (am very excited to be getting it to the table finally). I think I have a fairly good grasp of the rules (watched the walkthroughs, read the rulebook), but what rules would you say are most commonly overlooked in noobie games that I should be aware of? Thanks for the help!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darrell Goodridge
United States
Windsor Locks
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Currently at 1:2 ratio, getting better every week
badge
I don't want it, I don't need it, but I can't stop myself. - Stabbing Westward
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Here are some that I've either committed or seen done.

1. You can't Harmonize a Mana Crystal/Flower.
2. Most +dice are limited to first attack only, but Battle Fury doesn't count as a multiple attack.
3. Flyers have special rules which are good to go over. Can't be hindered, are grounded when guarding, can be attacked point blank by archers, etc.
4. Know your ranges! My first game I realized after the fact that I had been casting enchantments on targets 3-4 zones away.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Game Heretics
Canada
Surrey
British Columbia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The "Quickcast" marker-action cannot be used for Attack spells or movement.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Beiter
United States
Tonawanda
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
+1 range means plus 1 die when making a ranged attack, not increased distance.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike
Canada
Gatineau
Quebec
flag msg tools
Avatar
Cardboardjunkie wrote:
Here are some that I've either committed or seen done.

1. You can't Harmonize a Mana Crystal/Flower.


lindelos wrote:
The "Quickcast" marker-action cannot be used for Attack spells or movement.


Ouch... Are we sure about these 2 rules?

I've been playing so wrong... lol
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Kozlowski
United States
Schererville
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
lindelos wrote:
The "Quickcast" marker-action cannot be used for Attack spells or movement.


This is wrong. You can't make melee attacks or other non-spell attacks with the Quickcast marker, but you can certainly cast Attack spells with it.

6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Kozlowski
United States
Schererville
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Mike1977 wrote:
Cardboardjunkie wrote:
Here are some that I've either committed or seen done.

1. You can't Harmonize a Mana Crystal/Flower.


lindelos wrote:
The "Quickcast" marker-action cannot be used for Attack spells or movement.


Ouch... Are we sure about these 2 rules?

I've been playing so wrong... lol


The Quickcast statement is wrong. The Harmonize statement is correct however.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
tim meyer
United States
Mequon
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
lindelos wrote:
The "Quickcast" marker-action cannot be used for Attack spells or movement.
When I demoed this at GenCon, the distinction between Quickcast and Quick Action confused me to no end...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Guytan
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
lindelos wrote:
The "Quickcast" marker-action cannot be used for Attack spells or movement.


As others have said, this is incorrect.

An easy way to think of it, is right in the name: You can make a quick "cast," (any quick action spell) but not a quick non-casting action (melee attack or movement).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
detroit cobra
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Qickcast Action:
Quote:
On Page 7 it reads: "The Spell must be a quick action spell, and must have been prepared during the Planning Phase. Remember: this action can only be used to cast spells, it cannot be used to move, or make attacks."


BUT: This is only to summarize the available actions AT THAT TIME IN THAT SPECIFIC SCENARIO.

Would there have been a wizard in the scenario (Arcane Zap, p12) or would any of the mages in that scenario have equipped a wand with an attached spellbound spell (p25), these spells would also be available in the Quickcast Action, as long as they are qucikcast spells.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
detroit cobra
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You always get to roll at least one attack die when making an attack!

Say you've casted an Imp and the attacked mage has equipped the flame -2 armor. You will still roll 1 attack and 1 effect die, allthough the imp usually rolls two attack dies of a flame attack that would be reduced by two due to the flame -2 trait!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
tim meyer
United States
Mequon
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And I just realized today that mages are considered level 6 creatures! Huh, so wall of thorns is a wall of hurt.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.