Subject: Looking to start doing some technical writing rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alen Thacks

Lawrence
Kansas
msg tools
mb
Hello all, I've been playing games and reading rule-sets for several years and I see that the presentation of rules in games makes a large difference in whether a game can be understood on the first play and whether a group will enjoy a game when learning it from the rules. After experience with many different rules presentations, I can say that some are definitely better than others, and that the mark of a well-understood rule-set is good writing. A good rules presentation can make a group understand the game and some nuance of play, while poor writing leads to confusion, frustration, and bad impressions.

To this end, I am interested in doing for-contract technical writing of rule-sets. What I would do is to take the rules as created by the designer(s), developer(s), publishers and edit and re-draft them into a comprehensive and cohesive rule set.

But, my stumbling block here is that I've not done this before. To be sure, I have a Juris Doctor and a Masters of Library Science, so I have some good foundations in rules drafting and information organization. Does anyone else do this type of work? Are designers, developers, and publishers interested in having their rule-sets looked over by an experienced person with knowledge of how information should be presented? Are non-English publishers interested in having someone edit and re-draft the English rule-sets to be understandable by English speakers?

Let me know; this is a trial balloon on something I have thought about doing for a very long time, but I am interested in hearing feedback.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike L.
United States
West Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb