Popular Tags: [View All]
Eduardo Guimarães
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro
RJ
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,
i'm somewhat new to wargames but have played some wargames and i usually play with my wife. I realized that she likes strategic-level games more than tactic-level ones. Her preferred game is Twilight Struggle, and her preferred wargame is Pursuit of Glory , even with her strugling with some rules and exeptions, but i think she really like it because it's the only strategic level wargame that i have.

Now we want to pass from WWI to WWII, and i was wondering which wargame to get. I was thinking in getting one of the new releases (or yet to released), so i was considering:

The War: Europe 1939-1945 : Liked the map, didn't like the price. whistle
A World at War : Appears to be a too much of a step rule and counter-wise for us, but very good reports.
Unconditional Surrender! World War 2 in Europe : low density of counters is a plus.
The Supreme Commander : Too much map information might scare her.

Well this is what i found, any sugestion of which one i should get? sugestions of older wargames are also welcome.

Thanks and sorry for any english mistake.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alfred Wallace
United States
Champaign
IL
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
If you've liked two card-driven (war/warlike) games so far, you should at least glance at World War II: Barbarossa to Berlin; it may not be what you're looking for since it starts in 1941, but it is familiar territory.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roger Brandon
United States
North Bend
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Eduardo,

Something you might consider is going to ebay, and type in "Avalon Hill dvd"

There are many dvd's, each with scans of rules, maps, counters, charts, etc., with a bunch of games on each dvd, and for very little money. You'd have to print things out, but even with the cost of ink and paper, you'd be paying almost nothing for a game, and there are many great classics among them.