Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Parthenon: Rise of the Aegean» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question about discarding Events rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jason Maxwell
United States
Arvada
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In our first play last night we only had 1 real rules question. One of the players had the Wonder that allowed her to discard one Event during the Island Trade phase. She used this to discard the Year 3 Event that prohibits completing of Wonders unless a Spices is discarded during the Event phase. 2 players had discarded Spices during the Event phase of the Season she used the Wonder to discard the Event.

In the ensuing Build phase (Same season), who is allowed to complete a Wonder? Just the two people who paid the Spices (As the Event took effect during the Event phase and doesn't stop until the next Event phase) or anyone (As the Event is no longer on the table, and as such, no longer in effect)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Parks
United States
Somerset
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Quixotic Games: www.quixoticgames.com
badge
Dungeon Alliance: Available Now!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Great question, Jason. In this case, since Pestilence's effects are specifically triggered during the Event Phase, then only the players who paid the Spice during the Event Phase would be permitted to complete a Wonder during that Season, even though the Pestilence was eliminated during the interim.

This would differ from other Event Cards, however, which triggered during later Phases. For example, if a player uses the Statue of Zeus to eliminate Roman Glory, then players who journey to Italy that Season would not receive the bonus Gold.

Thanks!

Andrew

------------------------

Andrew Parks
Parthenon Co-Designer
Siren Bridge Publishing
webmaster@njkingdom.com
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Maxwell
United States
Arvada
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's how we played it, but we had a bit of a debate first. Thanks for the quick response.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.