Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

War of the Ring: Lords of Middle-earth» Forums » Rules

Subject: Error or Omission? The Balrog and Smeagol as Guide rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Pierce Ostrander
United States
Albuquerque
New Mexico
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules on page 24 read:

"If the drawn tile is an Eye, eliminate the Balrog and the Guide of the Fellowship (but discard the Eye tile without either effect if Gollum is the Guide)."

Should this rule read "... if Smeagol is the Guide" ? or perhaps "... if Smeagol or Gollum is the Guide"?

On Page 21 the rules state "Note: Smeagol is not Gollum." Bold and Italics are in the original.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristofer Bengtsson
Sweden
Kävlinge
flag msg tools
designer
War of the Ring: Official FAQ Master! Webmaster of www.warofthering.eu Author of the War of the Ring Companion
badge
- This is My Hour!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It says what it means.

If Gollum is the Guide an Eye tile is ignored.

If Sméagol is the Guide he and the Balrog are eliminated.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Madsen
United States
Kearns
Utah
flag msg tools
Trains!
badge
Houseplant?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The exemption for Gollum is because once Gollum is the guide, there are no other guides to replace him. However if Smeagol is the guide, there are still guide replacements, which include Gollum.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Kamber
Denmark
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Also, on a completely unrelated note, I misread the title. The concept of having 'The Balrog and Smeagol' as the guide of the fellowship cracked me up.

Now there's a 'what if' scenario.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pierce Ostrander
United States
Albuquerque
New Mexico
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's still a funny picture...

Rather than "You shall not pass!..."

We have Smeagol... what? Jumping up into the Balrogs mouth - the Balrog swollowing and chokeing on him on the way down?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kwang Il Kim
South Korea
Seoul
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
fubar awol wrote:
It's still a funny picture...

Rather than "You shall not pass!..."

We have Smeagol... what? Jumping up into the Balrogs mouth - the Balrog swollowing and chokeing on him on the way down?


And Sméagol would be awaken as Gollum the White and meet some Companions in Fangorn...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.