Chris Cormier
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Anyone have any rules for the Sky Bridge / Building Boom expansion yet?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
The Kelvis
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
SKYBRIDGE
Before dealing out 2 starting cards to each player, roll the dice and place the Skybridge on the street between two of the back lots based on the die results:

1: A4-C1
2: A5-C2
3: B5-D2
4: B6-D3
5: C10-E1
6: D9-F3 for 3+ players
or C11-E2 in a 2 player game.

Two lots connected by a Skybridge are treated as if they are adjacent during the game.


BUILDING BOOM
Place 2 Skybridges next to the board. (You may play with up to 4 Skybridges.) A new action is added to the game.

ACTION - SKYBRIDGE

When you take the Skybridge action, you construct a bridge across a side street between two like-colored casinos where you are the boss.

1. Choose two lots that are not on the strip where you are the boss, that are the same color, and that are adjacent to each other across a side street.

2. Pay $5 for each lot in both casinos.

3. Take one of the available Skybridges (if all are in use, you may not take this action) and place it on the side street.

8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike G
United States
Olympia
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
The Kelvis wrote:
SKYBRIDGE
Before dealing out 2 starting cards to each player, roll the dice and place the Skybridge on the street between two of the back lots based on the die results:

1: A4-C1
2: A5-C2
3: B5-D2
4: B6-D3
5: C10-E1
6: D9-F3 for 3+ players
or C11-E2 in a 2 player game.

Two lots connected by a Skybridge are treated as if they are adjacent during the game.


BUILDING BOOM
Place 2 Skybridges next to the board. (You may play with up to 4 Skybridges.) A new action is added to the game.

ACTION - SKYBRIDGE

When you take the Skybridge action, you construct a bridge across a side street between two like-colored casinos where you are the boss.

1. Choose two lots that are not on the strip where you are the boss, that are the same color, and that are adjacent to each other across a side street.

2. Pay $5 for each lot in both casinos.

3. Take one of the available Skybridges (if all are in use, you may not take this action) and place it on the side street.




Well that looks like fun!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan King (The Game Boy Geek)
United States
Gilbert
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Do I read this right that you can't connect the sky bridge to two casinos that are the same color and if your the boss of both if either of them contains any lots that are on the strip?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Redford
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dkingnu wrote:
Do I read this right that you can't connect the sky bridge to two casinos that are the same color and if your the boss of both if either of them contains any lots that are on the strip?


Not true. The bridge cannot go across the strip. But you can connect lots that are touching the strip (or contain such lots) across one of the other streets.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan King (The Game Boy Geek)
United States
Gilbert
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This seems different from the instructions. In the Sky bridge section none of the lots that touch the strip get a skybridge. It's always the middle or back lots.

The language seems to say imply that a sky bridge can't attache any two lots that are touching the strip (front lots). But if you own C11, C12, E2, E3, that you could attach the sky bridge in the C11, E2 space and in effect have a large casino using the skybridge that infact is still on the strip.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Redford
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Maybe strip lots can't have abridge across the side street. It sounds like the casino can still have lots touching the strip, just as long as the bridge isn't being used for the strip lots.

I always just thought the rule meant you can't go across the strip. I'm not sure why they are limiting bridge locations. Maybe they figure strip lots are valuable as it is, so if you want a bridge, you have to build up some lots away from the strip first.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan King (The Game Boy Geek)
United States
Gilbert
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think what we have come up with is probably correct. That way you have to use the bridges to build up the back lots, but not be touching the strip unless you sprawl there later (very expensive) or already have a large casino which would be very expensive ($5 mil for each tile in the casino).

It probably helps it be more balanced and help out some of the non strip payout blocks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duff
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dkingnu wrote:
But if you own C11, C12, E2, E3, that you could attach the sky bridge in the C11, E2 space and in effect have a large casino using the skybridge that infact is still on the strip.


You were correct the first time, this wouldn't be legal. The rules are very specific:

"Choose two lots that are not on the strip where you are the boss, that are the same color, and that are adjacent to each other across a side street."

The C11-C12 casino is already on the strip, so it's not eligible to be bridged. Same for E2-E3.

It is possible you could ultimately end up with this situation, as long as you put the bridge in before the two casinos were on the strip - get C11 and E2, bridge them, then several turns later expanded out to C12 and/or E3.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony Sanfilippo
United States
ISSAQUAH
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
littleboy wrote:
No I think you are wrong Steve, a LOT and a CASINO are not the same thing. Lots refer to individual coded locations on the board. C11 is a LOT. C12 is a LOT. C11-C12 in this case is a casino comprising 2 lots.

So the example of building the sky bridge between C11 and E2 would be legal as neither the C11 LOT or the E2 LOT touch the strip.

At least, if you are going to be literal in rules interpretations, you should be consistent in following the terms as defined in the rules.
You are correct about the wording. I believe that the rule should really read," Choose 2 lots or 2 casinos that are not on the strip..." The reasoning would be that the strip pays for those on it with 4 cards already and sky bridges helps those that are not on the strip. That is the way I am playing it because I believe that was the intent of the designer. If not why bother stating that you can't use those lots or casinos on the strip
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.