Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Puzzle Strike Shadows» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can you Signature Move Shadow Plague? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Anthony Rubbo
United States
Philadelphia
PA
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
...to avoid woundage? Or does the Shadow Plague never actually get "played"?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
K
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Shadow Plague gives you a wound any time you discard it without first playing it as an action during that turn

After playing Signature Move, you search your bag or discard pile for a Character chip and put it into your hand (if able), and then you may play any Character Chip you like from your hand, including Shadow Plague -- it does not have to be one that you searched for and retrieved!

So yes, if you have a brown arrow and Signature Move in your hand, you can use the Signature Move to avoid the wound
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gerrit G.
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This question is a bit tricky, but if we put all the pieces together, the answer is yes.

Firstly, Signature Move says "You may play a character chip.". Shadow Plague is a bit weird, because it is unlike any other character chip and actually resembles a wound. It still is a character chip and has a banner though and the rulebook says that "Each turn you may play one Action chip--any chip with a banner." (page 8). This means that you can play Shadow Plague with Signature Move, because it is a character chip and it has a banner.

Secondly, you get no wound when playing Shadow Plague in this way. The chip says "Whenever you discard this chip, gain a wound.". Playing a chip (be it with Signature Move or not) means that you put it onto the table, where it remains until the cleanup phase. See "To play an Action chip, put it face up on the table and do whatever it says." (page 8) During the cleanup phase, the following happens: "Make sure any chips you bought this turn are in your discard pile, put all the chips you played to the table this turn (including gem chips used as money) into your discard pile, and discard the chips in your hand." (page 8) Notice the distinction between discarding chips from your hand and putting chips from the table into your discard pile. This means, that the Shadow Plague that you played (be it by using Signature Move or not) isn't discarded, therefore not giving you a wound.

All this means that Shadow Plague has a pretty neat interaction with Signature Move, making that puzzle chip quite good for Gwen.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Apollo Andy
United States
Fort Worth
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Especially since her other two char chips are quite strong and get a bit stronger with the ability to manipulate their order and/or put them both together in the same hand.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.