Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Virgin Queen» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ottoman tribute card. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Vaughan Edge
United Kingdom
Cheshire
Cheshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
A little confused re the wording of this card. It say I can declare war on either HRE Venice or Spain. It's just the text in brackets seems to imply that I will be declaring war on at least 2 of the powers simultaneously. It say (or the HRE, if Spain declines and the HRE is player power) obviously referring to the tribute. This then sounds as if the Ottoman declares war on all the powers and Spain has first choice at offering tribute to avoid war. If they do so HRE loses the option of tribute and the Ottoman can declare war on HRE and Vienna. This feels wrong though surely you could only declare war on one of the powers. Would appreciate some clarification on this. Also on a different note. Will be playing for first time with 3 on Sunday. Just wondering if the non player majors get home cards and a hand of cards when activated?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Jelley
United Kingdom
Hungerford
Berkshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Non-player Home Cards are removed from play, they are not used.

With the Ottoman Tribute Home Card

1) Ottomans declares war one of Spain, HRE or Venice

2) Spain may cancel this declaration of war on Spain, HRE or Venice by offering the Ottomans a random card from his hand.

3) If Spain declines and the HRE is not a non-player power then HRE may cancel this declaration of war on Spain, HRE or Venice by offering the Ottomans a random card from his hand.

4) The Ottomans may accept the tribute and take the random card and a card from the deck, or may not accept it and carry on with spending his 2 CP (NB the Ottomans may quicken things up a bit by declining any tribute when he plays the card).

Philip
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven
United States
Spokane
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
"The mystery of life isn't a problem to solve, but a reality to experience"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Phil pretty much got it right. I just want to add that after Spain (or the HRE if Spain declines) offer tribute and if the Ottomans accept; they can take either a card or a treasure from that power, plus an additional card draw from the deck. The Ottomans get to decide which reward they want to take, not the power who offered the tribute.

So be careful when offering tribute!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Maginity
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Make sure you read the rules for games with less than 6 players on pages 10 through 12 of the Scenario Book if you haven't already. (Don't forget to check the corresponding section of the Errata as well!) Note especially that activated major powers can be a source of additional VP for the controlling player, though they can also cause the controlling player to lose VP.

Non player majors do get a hand of cards when activated (see step 6 of the Activation procedure) but do not get to use their home cards (as can be seen by looking at the Cards Removed from Play sections under Configurations). Step 5 of the Spring Deployment procedure on page 15 of the Rule Book also includes the following:

Quote:
Activated major powers never receive any Home cards; discard all home cards for these powers at this time.


This is rather poorly phrased, since it implies that you're supposed to go through the pointless exercise of adding the Home cards to your hand at the beginning of each turn only to discard them without ever getting a chance to use them. Just remove the Home cards from play outright as indicated in the Scenario Book. In particular, since you'll have fewer than 5 players, the Ottoman Tribute card won't be used in your game on Sunday.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vaughan Edge
United Kingdom
Cheshire
Cheshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Thanks for the feedback guys. Much appreciated. Have read the section on activating Majors. Doesnt seem to specify how the activated majors receive more cards or do they recieve a hand like the other powers in the card draw phase. Suppose it will be apparent on my first play through.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Maginity
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hmmm, you're right, the rules don't explicitly spell out that activated major powers receive cards during the Card Draw Phase. However it is very strongly implied:

1. The risk of loss of VP for the power taking control of the activated major power after the latter has war declared upon it seems excessively high if the activated major power won't have any cards to defend itself on the next turn.

2. The Restrictions on page 12 of the Scenario Book include the following:

Quote:
Activated major powers conduct diplomacy normally making announcements and declaring war.


Without a hand of cards dealt during the Card Draw Phase, the only way an activated major power could pay for a DOW during the Diplomacy Phase would be by using treasures. However any remaining treasures would be useless for fighting the war since there would be no cards upon which impulses could be extended. (Note that an activated major power will never have a colony since the HRE doesn't have any and the Ottoman can neither build the Suez Canal (since it doesn't have the Grand Vizier Home Card) nor build expeditions.)

3. The Errata includes the following step to be added to the Deactivation procedure for an activated major power:

Quote:
Remove all +1 Card and -1 Card markers from this deactivating power’s Power Card


It wouldn't make much sense to be holding on to these markers unless the activated major power was going to be dealt cards in the Card Draw Phase.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MLeis
Estonia
Tallinn
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Also confirmed by Ed in this thread: http://boardgamegeek.com/article/9207735#9207735
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.