Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
15 Posts

Game of Thrones: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Plot card - Detained rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
namron azzer
Malaysia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Plot Card - Detained (P5)

Text reads: "When revealed, choose and kneel a character."

My question: Who gets to choose and kneel a character? Both players or just the player who revealed that plot?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Williams
United States
Vista
CA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Both players starting with the "First Player" as defined on Page 8 determines who goes first as explained in also on Page 8, Phase 1: Plot, fifth paragraph.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
namron azzer
Malaysia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
noted. thanks for the reply.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Shinners
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
The Old Man wrote:
Both players starting with the "First Player" as defined on Page 8 determines who goes first as explained in also on Page 8, Phase 1: Plot, fifth paragraph.


I don't think that's right. I'm pretty sure Detained's card text only applies to the person who played it.

So just the player who revealed the plot would choose and kneel a character.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick Teverbaugh
United States
Anderson
Indiana (IN)
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
MattShinners wrote:
The Old Man wrote:
Both players starting with the "First Player" as defined on Page 8 determines who goes first as explained in also on Page 8, Phase 1: Plot, fifth paragraph.


I don't think that's right. I'm pretty sure Detained's card text only applies to the person who played it.

So just the player who revealed the plot would choose and kneel a character.


No, I think it applies to both.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Colin Houghton
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Be good to get this sorted... I think there's a similar card in the Big Game of Thrones LCG, but I can't remember what the thread said about it...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Williams
United States
Vista
CA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm checking at the AGoT forum, but I'm 100% sure it's both.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Colin Houghton
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Good (old) man!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J. J. Cole
Canada
Hamilton
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I'm not sure how much things like this changed, but in the LCG generally any card effect which says to do something only applies to the player unless it specifies otherwise. For example, some of the LCG plots would say "When revealed, choose one opponent. You and that opponent do X" or "When revealed, each player does X."

I'm not sure why they would have changed plot effects to apply to all players all of a sudden, unless they specifically stated such in the rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Williams
United States
Vista
CA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, here's the first response I got, "The controller of the card almost always is the one to execute such effects unless the text says "Each player."

And to think I bought GoT because I found AGoT too hard! So all that happens is you have to kneel one of your own men?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Rice
United States
LIHUE
HI
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No - you GET to kneel a character, and it would usually be one of your opponent's characters!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Shinners
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
andy.rice@att.net wrote:
No - you GET to kneel a character, and it would usually be one of your opponent's characters!


Yep - be careful with card interpretation. Unless it specifically says, "your character", then you can pick anyone.*


*There's an exception to this in the LCG (paying costs), but I don't believe it's an issue with the cards included in this set.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Awesome
United States
San Antonio
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Can't read my POKAH FASE
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The person who played detained can choose and kneel one character. If it was both players, it would say "each player" like other plots do.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eddie the Cranky Gamer
Canada
Edmonton
Alberta
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
Valar Morghulis does not say each player...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Rice
United States
LIHUE
HI
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Because the plot doesn't affect Players -- it kills all Characters in play.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.