Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

Arkham Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: A couple of questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
jane doe
Australia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
1) if an investigator closes a gate and stays in the location can another investigator come and seal it? In other words one of my investigators doesn't have enough tokens to seal a gate. Can another investigator come along who does have enough and seal it?

2) can a gate open (via an encounter or mythos card) in a location that has had another gate closed (not sealed )?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Alexopoulos
United States
Clifton Park
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jacevy wrote:
1) if an investigator closes a gate and stays in the location can another investigator come and seal it? In other words one of my investigators doesn't have enough tokens to seal a gate. Can another investigator come along who does have enough and seal it?

2) can a gate open (via an encounter or mythos card) in a location that has had another gate closed (not sealed )?


Answers to your questions:

1) Only the investigator with the explored marker can close and seal a gate. Also note that clue tokens cannot be traded (Therefore another investigator can't move to the location, give another investigator clue tokens to use to seal the gate.).

2) A gate must be sealed (receives the Elder sign) to prevent another gate from opening in that location. If the gate was only closed, then another gate can open in that location in a subsequent phase.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jane doe
Australia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
RE Q2)

So if we have a closed gate and then another gate opens do we still seal the first gate or as soon as another gate opens is that one forgotten and we just need to close and seal the second?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bobby Ramsey
United States
Grove City
OH
flag msg tools
badge
Hush
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jacevy wrote:
RE Q2)
So if we have a closed gate and then another gate opens do we still seal the first gate or as soon as another gate opens is that one forgotten and we just need to close and seal the second?


The only time you can seal a gate is while closing it. If you close it and don't pay the clues right then, you have missed the opportunity to seal it. If a second gate opens, you will have to explore, close, and seal it.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
jacevy wrote:
RE Q2)

So if we have a closed gate and then another gate opens do we still seal the first gate or as soon as another gate opens is that one forgotten and we just need to close and seal the second?


Your question doesn't really make sense so there might be some confusion on how closing gates work.

When you close a gate (regardless if you seal it or not) the gate is removed from the board and is given to the investigator who closed the gate. The game has no memory whatsoever regarding where a closed gate was unless you seal the gate when you close it.

When a gate tries to open you check for 1 of 3 conditions.
If the location has no gate or seal the gate opens normally.
If the location has a seal than no gate opens
If the location has a gate than a monster surge occurs.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Sherlock
United States
Anaheim Hills
California
flag msg tools
badge
Admin @ www.cigargeeks.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When a gate is closed it is removed from the board and taken by the investigator who closed it as a trophy. So, the location is s if there was never a gate there in the first place.

If it is sealed, again it is taken as a trophy, but an Elder Sign counter is placed there to show that new gates and monsters will not appear there.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jane doe
Australia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Thank you so much for your replies.
It all makes sense now.
We were trying to play that on a turn the investigator closes and on their next turn they sealed. Now I realise it is all one turn.

Thanks again.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jane doe
Australia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Hi.

I have another couple of questions.

a) Does an investigator have to move?

b) When flying monster move directly to the nearest investigator does this ignore the movement arrow markers? Also are flying monsters restricted to street or can they go in and out of locations too?
eg: A flying monster is in a street area and they are directly beside an investigator in a location. The mythos card has stated that the monster moves... can the flying monster move to the location even though the arrow tells it to move away?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Woody
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mb
jacevy wrote:
Hi.

I have another couple of questions.

a) Does an investigator have to move?

b) When flying monster move directly to the nearest investigator does this ignore the movement arrow markers? Also are flying monsters restricted to street or can they go in and out of locations too?
eg: A flying monster is in a street area and they are directly beside an investigator in a location. The mythos card has stated that the monster moves... can the flying monster move to the location even though the arrow tells it to move away?


In answer to a: No, an investigator does not HAVE to move. They still get movement points equal to their speed which can be spent on other things, for instance activating a tome, but they do not have to spend their movement point to actually move if they choose not to. An example would be an investigator who returns from another world to a gate location but cannot close the gate. They can wait at that location and try again in the next encounter.

In answer to b: Flying monster movement works like this:

If the flying monster moves, it moves directly to the nearest investigator in an adjacent street location.

If there is not an investigator in an adjacent street location, the monster moves to the sky.

The sky is considered adjacent to all street locations, so if the flying monster moves again, it goes directly to an investigator in a street location. If there are no investigators in street locations, it stays in the sky. If there are multiple investigators in street locations, the first player chooses who gets the flying monster.

So, if the flyer is in a street location and there are no investigators in street locations adjacent to it, then the flyer moves back to the sky. The flyer does not move into the other location areas.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Sherlock
United States
Anaheim Hills
California
flag msg tools
badge
Admin @ www.cigargeeks.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you return from an other world through. Gate, you get an explored token. This token remains in your location until either you close/seal the gate or move from the location. As long as it is there, the investigator who is associated with that token is immune from being sucked back through tat gate. So you can remain in that location and read a tome if you like. Tis sometimes is useful to gain enough clues to seal the gate. The only thingtht you really have to worry about are monster surges and a few purple or green boarder monsters that can move into locations.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bern Harkins
United States
Buffalo
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jhwedmd wrote:
If there are multiple investigators in street locations, the first player chooses who gets the flying monster.


Great explanation of the flying monster rules, one of the most readable I've seen, but you missed one thing; a monster in the sky goes to the investigator in a street location who has the lowest Sneak skill; if there is a tie, then the first player chooses.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bern Harkins
United States
Buffalo
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Not exactly on topic, but as long as we're talking about investigators remaining on open gates, many new players don't realize that another investigator can move onto that gate, give the investigator with the explored token an elder sign or a tome, and move off the gate. Investigators only enter gates during the Arkham Encounter phase, or if a gate opens in their location (or, using the Lurker expansion, moves into their location). Gates don't affect Investigator movement in any way.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M.C.Crispy
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Radulla wrote:
Not exactly on topic, but as long as we're talking about investigators remaining on open gates, many new players don't realize that another investigator can move onto that gate, give the investigator with the explored token an elder sign or a tome, and move off the gate. Investigators only enter gates during the Arkham Encounter phase, or if a gate opens in their location (or, using the Lurker expansion, moves into their location). Gates don't affect Investigator movement in any way.
Oh there's all sorts of finessing you can do in this area! You can even use Investigator turn order to you favour on occasion. You just have to remember that the rules don't change and that the Phases are what drive sequencing. Of course if there are Monsters on that Gate then it's a different matter; but then with some coincidence of Turn order the second Investigator may even be able to beat up the Monsters so the first Investigator doesn't have to and can move freely on their next turn.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Woody
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mb
Radulla wrote:
jhwedmd wrote:
If there are multiple investigators in street locations, the first player chooses who gets the flying monster.


Great explanation of the flying monster rules, one of the most readable I've seen, but you missed one thing; a monster in the sky goes to the investigator in a street location who has the lowest Sneak skill; if there is a tie, then the first player chooses.


Of course, you are correct, my bad!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.