CNY Gamer
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We played an epic game tonight and a situation came up where a player encountered a pirate and decided to engage the pirate with lasers. He rolled his attack and the roll was too high, so he wanted to assign an unassigned die to his variable laser after his roll so that he would instead have a winning roll. We dug through the rules but couldn't find anything to explicitly prohibit this.

Is this a legal play?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruce Gazdecki
United States
Lindsey
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
As far as I can tell, only way this wouldn't be legal is if he had already assigned dice equal to his pilot level and therefore wasn't able to assign any more dice that turn.



1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Purple Paladin

California
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hmmm, IF it is legal, it seems pretty cheezy; like pulling a never ending stream of Aces from up your sleave every time you see you hand is not as good as his.

Not very exciting or themeatic either.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dietmar Schmid
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Nothing in the rules forbids using a dice after the attack, but the value and position of the dice cannot be changed for the rest of the turn.

I wouldn´t change that rule, because otherwise the game would be slowed down even more.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Overtext pending moderation...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Surely when you make a lasers check, you are rolling against your current lasers rating. So if you don't have a die assigned to the variable laser and you roll, you are making a check against your standard laser value and if you roll equal or over, you fail. There is no option that I am aware of of then changing the value you are checking against retroactively.

I would say this is illegal.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruce Gazdecki
United States
Lindsey
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Purple Paladin wrote:
Hmmm, IF it is legal, it seems pretty cheezy; like pulling a never ending stream of Aces from up your sleave every time you see you hand is not as good as his.

Not very exciting or themeatic either.


Seems very thematic in a way though. They're "variable" lasers. You shoot, and when you add the die then, it just happened to be more powerful than though thought it'd be.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Summerer
United States
Hamden
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Check out my audiobooks!
badge
Will talk for food!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Don't you assign dice in your Set Speed step? That happens before movement.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Overtext pending moderation...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
AmazingIntern wrote:
Don't you assign dice in your Set Speed step? That happens before movement.


You can assign dice any time during movement.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Purple Paladin

California
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I agree with BL.

Captain: "Fire Lasers"!

Weapons Officer: "We hit but did not penatrate his sheilds"!

Captain: "Activate Omega 13, take us back in time, and reinforce weapons energy"!

No thanks. Even if found technically "legal" we will house rule that "exploit" out.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carlos Alves
Portugal
Setubal
Setubal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Wrong, the dice can be assigned before and during the movement phase, up to pilot level.
When you spend all movements points, you aren't able to assign dices.

So if his variable laser test was during the movement phase, it's legible.

Like the example of navigation die. You don't need to assign before the movement, you can assign the die during the movement.

Standard Rules - Page 10
In order to use certain abilities, a player must assign dice to
boxes on his dashboard sheet. To do so, he simply takes any
of his rolled speed dice and places them in the appropriate
spaces of his dashboard sheet. A player can only assign dice
during his Movement phase, and only dice rolled during his
Set Speed step can be assigned.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Overtext pending moderation...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
BGFreakDag2PT wrote:
Wrong, the dice can be assigned before and during the movement phase, up to pilot level.
When you spend all movements points, you aren't able to assign dices.

So if his variable laser test was during the movement phase, it's legible.

Like the example of navigation die. You don't need to assign before the movement, you can assign the die during the movement.

Standard Rules - Page 10
In order to use certain abilities, a player must assign dice to
boxes on his dashboard sheet. To do so, he simply takes any
of his rolled speed dice and places them in the appropriate
spaces of his dashboard sheet. A player can only assign dice
during his Movement phase, and only dice rolled during his
Set Speed step can be assigned.


It's legal to assign the die during movement, yes, but I would argue (strongly) that it is not legal to retroactively assign the die for a check that has already been made.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bleached_lizard wrote:
BGFreakDag2PT wrote:
Wrong, the dice can be assigned before and during the movement phase, up to pilot level.
When you spend all movements points, you aren't able to assign dices.

So if his variable laser test was during the movement phase, it's legible.

Like the example of navigation die. You don't need to assign before the movement, you can assign the die during the movement.

Standard Rules - Page 10
In order to use certain abilities, a player must assign dice to
boxes on his dashboard sheet. To do so, he simply takes any
of his rolled speed dice and places them in the appropriate
spaces of his dashboard sheet. A player can only assign dice
during his Movement phase, and only dice rolled during his
Set Speed step can be assigned.


It's legal to assign the die during movement, yes, but I would argue (strongly) that it is not legal to retroactively assign the die for a check that has already been made.

I agree. Once the die is rolled, it's either success or failure; you had to determine the number needed BEFORE you rolled.

If you assign a laser AFTER you roll, that's fine and dandy, but won't affect the failure of the first roll since it's already done.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Herbert Maderbacher
Austria
Vienna
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Solved according to the FAQ posted on the FFG Webpage.
Quote:
Q: Can a player assign a die to Variable Lasers or Variable
Shields after he rolls a laser or shield check, to raise the
result of his check?

A: No. In order to gain the bonus to his lasers or shields,
the player must assign a die to Variable Lasers or
Variable Shields before he rolls for the laser or shield
check.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.