Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Catan» Forums » Rules

Subject: House is being torn apart! Help! (Traders & Barbarians - Barbarian Attack) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
A house divided cannot stand, and we're at risk of falling, thanks to this dire question over the rules about finishing a 3-player game of Barbarian Attack, from the Traders and Barbarians expansion.

Dusty was at 11 points as his turn came around. He had plans to upgrade a settlement nestled on the coast of Catan to a vibrant city. Said settlement had been under siege on one of its only two adjoining hexes by the dreaded barbarians, so the upgrade was a victory for its valiant citizens.

On his turn, Dusty took his chance to upgrade his settlement into a city, achieving his 12th victory point in the process, and (half of us contend) winning the game. In the heat of play, however, two of his opponents, led by the needling Gilene, demanded that he continue with another Barbarian Attack. After the dust settled, the only other remaining hex next to Dusty's new city was now occupied entirely by the barbarians.

Here's where we get complicated. Dusty's new city now falls to the horde, since all of its surrounding hexes are barbarian-controlled. In the next two turns, Gilene will move on to her 12th victory point, and claim a win instead.

I contend that Dusty ought to have won the game, since the rules stipulate that the player who reaches 12 points "during his turn" wins, and I aver that he gained his 12th point during his turn, before the Barbarian Attack mode kicked in. Gilene maintains that the Barbarian Attack was still a required step, even after Dusty had claimed his 12th and final victory point.

What say ye, community of Catan? Help us come to some kind of consensus, please!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matty Pants
United States
Idaho
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
To win you must have the needed victory points at the end of your turn. If you play online, you can't win until after you finish your turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Newton
United Kingdom
Wiltshire
flag msg tools
badge
In the interest of giving credit where credit is due, my avatar is a scan of a hand-drawn caricature by cartoonist Jim Naylor which was done at my company's 20th anniversary dinner.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Vandoux wrote:
To win you must have the needed victory points at the end of your turn. If you play online, you can't win until after you finish your turn.

Unless you have another source for that, it sounds as though the online version is wrong.

Traders and Barbarians rule book wrote:
END OF THE GAME
The game ends as soon as a player reaches 12 victory points during his turn.

That seems unequivocal to me that the games ends mid-turn if 12 points is reached.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reiner Dr. Düren
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We have discussed this question and have come to this conclusion:

The important sentence, respective word (underlined) in the rules is:

"Each time you build a settlement or upgrade a settlement to a city, you must immediately interrupt your turn and resolve a “barbarian attack.”"

The barbarian attack is part of buiding the city (or settlement), therefore both actions cannot be separated - not even to controll if the player has enough victory points. The barbarians attack immediately since they are standing ante portas, to wait for a lucrative target.

To win, the player has to move enough knights to this hexagon to be able to defeat the barbarians.

Dr. Reiner Düren
Catan GmbH
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mr Bug
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Vandoux wrote:
To win you must have the needed victory points at the end of your turn. If you play online, you can't win until after you finish your turn.


Which online version?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian Rapp
Germany
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
playcatan.com
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.