Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

P.I.» Forums » Rules

Subject: Last man standing... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
gazorg suede
msg tools
mb
The rules hints at page seven "... (which means it is possible that there is no single last player)." which I interpret as there should be a rule for when a player is alone in not having solved the case.

We asked in Essen at Treefrog. They stated that when the next last player have solved the case the last player has one more round to attempt solving the case but otherwise will score zero points. So at most the last player have two actions when left alone(current round and an extra). This is reasonable as the last player otherwise always would score one step lower than the next to last, but maybe taking forever to do so.

Any other thoughts on how to resolve this?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan
Belgium
De Haan
flag msg tools
admin
designer
I love cargo biking!
badge
...and videogaming, boardgaming, RPG'ing and helping users as an admin!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We just let the last player go until he solves the case.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Gerrits
Belgium
Leuven
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From page 5:

Quote:
This procedure is repeated until all players have solved their crimes or there is one player left who has not solved their crime (if players resolve their cases in the same number of turns then they score the same points).

So you finish the round and then the last player gets 0 points if she still hasn't solved the case.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mcewan67 wilson
msg tools

We don't understand the rules for game in 2 players, about the end of the game.
If a player solves a case, what have the second (and the last) player to do? He goes on until he solves the game? And how many points does he win (7,5,3,1,0); according to the turn he solve the case?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan
Belgium
De Haan
flag msg tools
admin
designer
I love cargo biking!
badge
...and videogaming, boardgaming, RPG'ing and helping users as an admin!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Apparantly if only one player is left he doesn't score anything and doesn't need to solve his/her case.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mcewan67 wilson
msg tools

It's very incredible that rules doesn't say nothing about two player.
However, we think that the last player, in game for 2, after the first player has solved her case, the second (the last in this case) has only another one turn to choice, if attempt to solve (7 points or -2 if he's wrong), or pass (zero ponts).

Is it correct?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edd Allard
United States
Colorado Springs
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Runkst wrote:
From page 5:

Quote:
This procedure is repeated until all players have solved their crimes or there is one player left who has not solved their crime (if players resolve their cases in the same number of turns then they score the same points).

So you finish the round and then the last player gets 0 points if she still hasn't solved the case.


This is how we play it, based on that rule (pg. 5). The worst case we've ever encountered was a 7 point swing between first and last place after three mini-games. The player who finished last had one round where he scored 0 points, and one where he only scored 3 (actually scored 5 but had one bad guess for -2). In both cases, he had a 50/50 opportunity to score 5 and 7 respectively, either of which would have kept him in the hunt.

At first we thought this scoring might unbalance the game, but that doesn't seem to be the case after several games.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chaddyboy
United States
Olathe
Kansas
flag msg tools
admin
designer
Bloooooop.
badge
Bluuuuuurp.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules also later say this, which is somewhat contradictory:
Quote:
The mini-game ends when all players have scored points.


2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anthony Rubbo
United States
Philadelphia
PA
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm wondering if the intent is everybody essentially "solves" their case, you just stop when there is one person left, as he would essentially have infinite time. Therefore, he would score the next box lower than the penultimate solver. That would perhaps reconcile the two statements?

It obviously makes a huge difference to the decisions made in the 2-player game.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Brennan
Australia
St Ives, Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I was demoing this game with Martin at the Aus expo and asked him to confirm the last-player process. If there's two players left who haven't accused correctly, and one them (player A) makes a successful accusation, then the round completes so that both have had the same number of turns. If the last player (player B) doesn't accuse correctly within that round, he scores 0. If he does accuse correctly within that round, then he scores the same as player A.

Let's reverse it. If player B goes out, and player A hasn't, and they've had the same number of turns (ie the round completes after player B has had his turn), then that's it, player A doesn't get another turn, he'll score 0 points.

In this way, it's irrelevant if it's a 2 player game or multi-player, the process is the same. Hope this helps.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jfkoski
United States
Cary
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It seems like it could be a big disadvantage going first! If you solve first, then everyone else can decide to guess that round and you could all score 7. However, if you don't solve, then everyone else could solve the same turn, scoring 7, while you score 0. You might not come back from that!

It seems easier to solve going last, once all those other people have solved their cases, and eliminated their people, crimes and locations.

A couple times we've tried it where the last person standing has a choice. If it's still the same round then they could guess for the same points as normal (fail = -2 penalty) or they can make one more play to get information. Next round they get a guess for the next lower points or pass (but 1 or 2 guesses is it - no more playing). Likewise, if you became the last person standing after your turn, then you get 1 more guess for the lesser points. So in a 2-player game, if you went first and the other player is out at 7, you still have a chance to guess for either 5 points or -2, or pass for 0.

I guess this would fall under House Rules.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
SAKURA in KYOTO 2018 Back to Kansai
England
York
North Yorkshire
flag msg tools
admin
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
chaddyboy_2000 wrote:
The rules also later say this, which is somewhat contradictory:
Quote:
The mini-game ends when all players have scored points.




Somewhat? Very! We've never understood who you finish the round. Reading these forums suggest that Martin Wallace says if the ultimate player doesn't guess in the same round as the penultimate player, they get zero. I wish it was as clear in the actual rules.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.