Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

War of the Ring (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: The Last Battle and Mordor Track... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sean Sandborgh
United States
Albany
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I can't believe this question hasn't been directly asked yet, but I looked and couldn't find it so here goes:

The second edition rulebook states:
To enter Mordor, it is now sufficient that the Ring-bearers are located in Minas Morgul or Morannon, without requirement of declaring the Fellowship. As a consequence, the Fellowship can enter Mordor even if it is not Hidden (see page 43).
If the Fellowship is in Minas Morgul or Morannon during a Fellowship Phase, the Free Peoples player may decide to enter Mordor. In this case, immediately proceed to the following steps (after fully resolving the declaration of the Fellowship's position, if necessary):


The Last Battle states that it is discarded when the ring company is revealed or declares itself.

Is there a declaration when you show up in Minas Morgul or Morannan which causes The Last Battle to be discarded or not? If so (as a second unrelated question), doesn't that declaration result in ending up in a shadow stronghold, thus causing the draw of a tile before you go onto the mordor track?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Raf B
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There are only two ways for the Fellowship to find itself located in Minas Morgul or Morannon, declaring there or being revealed there, so either case will cause The Last Battle to be discarded.

Quote:
without requirement of declaring the Fellowship

Perhaps this phrase was the source of confusion. In 1st edition, you could only enter Mordor after declaring. Now you may also do so when revealed. I don't think the intent here was to eliminate the need to formally declare the Fellowship from the Mordor entry equation, just to add revealing as an alternative.

As to your unrelated question, remember that you only draw an extra tile for being revealed in a Shadow Stronghold, not for declaring there (though the Balrog of Moria card and The Gates Are Closed expansion card explicitly add a tile draw for declaring).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Madsen
United States
Kearns
Utah
flag msg tools
Trains!
badge
Houseplant?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sandboxx wrote:
I can't believe this question hasn't been directly asked yet, but I looked and couldn't find it so here goes:

Similar questions have been asked several times, many stemming from a misunderstanding of the change between editions.

Sandboxx wrote:
The second edition rulebook states:
To enter Mordor, it is now sufficient that the Ring-bearers are located in Minas Morgul or Morannon, without requirement of declaring the Fellowship. As a consequence, the Fellowship can enter Mordor even if it is not Hidden (see page 43).

The only thing this changes between editions is that a Revealed Fellowship already located in Minas Morgul or Morannon is allowed to enter the Mordor Track without Hiding the Fellowship beforehand.

Sandboxx wrote:
If the Fellowship is in Minas Morgul or Morannon during a Fellowship Phase, the Free Peoples player may decide to enter Mordor. In this case, immediately proceed to the following steps (after fully resolving the declaration of the Fellowship's position, if necessary):

A declaration of the Fellowship's position is necessary to enter the Mordor Track when all the following conditions apply:

1 The Fellowship is Hidden.
2 The Fellowship's last known position (plastic figure) is not in Minas Morgul or Morannon.
3 The Fellowship has traveled far enough from its last known position to reach either Minas Morgul or Morannon.

Sandboxx wrote:
The Last Battle states that it is discarded when the ring company is revealed or declares itself.

Is there a declaration when you show up in Minas Morgul or Morannan which causes The Last Battle to be discarded or not?

To enter the Mordor Track, the fellowship was either revealed by the Shadow player in Minas Morgul or Morannon, or the Free Peoples player declared the Fellowship's position in Minas Morgul or Morannon, so either way this card would be discarded.

Sandboxx wrote:
If so (as a second unrelated question), doesn't that declaration result in ending up in a shadow stronghold, thus causing the draw of a tile before you go onto the mordor track?
Chapter VIII: The Fellowship of the Ring • 39 wrote:
The Fellowship in Shadow Stronholds
When the Fellowship is revealed, and its path traced from its last known position, if the Fellowship moves through, moves from, moves into, or remains stationary in a Shadow Stronghold still controlled by the Shadow Player, then a Hunt Tile is immediately drawn as if a Hunt has been successful.

This drawing of a Hunt Tile is done only if the Fellowship is revealed by the Shadow player.

Reveals in Shadow Strongholds draw an additional Hunt Tile. Declarations in Shadow Strongholds do not draw Hunt Tiles.

Also, if the Fellowship enters the Mordor Track while revealed, an additional Hunt Tile is not drawn.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sean Sandborgh
United States
Albany
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ah, thank you..makes more sense now.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.