Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jason Sample
United States
Pelham
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Bright, brilliant colors are to be seen everywhere, the stones and pigments undimmed by the passage of decades. The floor of the corridor is a colorful mosaic of stone, with a distinct, winding path of red tiles about 2' wide.
mbmbmbmbmb
I credit an article by Skip Maloney in Games Magazine many years ago for getting me into board gaming again. He wrote a brilliant article about playing Puerto Rico at BSW and after reading it I immediately visited the site and signed up. Then it happened...

I lurked on the site for a while. I watched many games of PR before I got the nerve to play. I played other, much less intimidating games while I worked up my nerve. When I finally played it the first time, I made a point of announcing that I was a complete noob. I got yelled at a few times and some folks left rooms before we could start games. Occasionally, I would "Craft" when I should have "Shipped" and I got lectured more than once about my poor choices. I eventually got over it, and since then, I played a bunch of games and I have always enjoyed it (even taught it a few times).

What does this have to do with 7 Wonders? Well, 7 Wonders has become my new obsession. The mechanics are intriguing. I like the simultaneous action and the player interaction. I have read about it extensively and I am going to purchase it soon. I would like to try it out on BSW, but I am a bit intimidated by it all. The game moves awfully fast and I am concerned that my lack of speed will upset some folks. The sounds are confusing. I don't know the cards. I know that there is a way that I can announce that it is a "Novice Game", etc., but I am still concerned that I am going to piss off folks.

I know that I should get over it and just play, all ready.

Any thoughts?

Peace,
Jason

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Berry
United States
Denver
CO - Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb