Lynette
United States
Richland
Washington
flag msg tools
Yep, I am a girl Scientist. Come for the breasts; Stay for the brains!
badge
For as long as I shall live I will testify to love; I'll be a witness in the silences when words are not enough.
mbmbmbmbmb
Yesterday was the first day of viewing for my father’s funeral. During the first hour the room is reserved for just the family to so they can grieve alone for awhile.

My eleven year old niece, who deeply loved and greatly enjoyed her Pa Pa, especially going fishing with him and who is facing her first real loss to death of a loved one was inconsolable. She kept keening and begging my father to wake up. It was heartbreaking to watch and reminded me of how Jesus was touched by the grief of others.

One of the more famous verses of the Gospel is “Jesus Wept”, which many people, not knowing the context, assume is part of the crucifixion story. But it isn’t. It is part of the story of Lazarus.

So to set the scene… the sisters of Lazarus have sent for Jesus telling him that their brother is gravely ill. And yet Jesus tarries for several days before heading to Bethany. Just before they head out He tells the disciples that Lazarus has fallen asleep and they are confused, so he plainly says Lazarus has died, but I am going to wake him up.

When Jesus arrives He meets up with Martha and Mary, who in their grief say that they know if only Jesus had come sooner their brother wouldn’t have died. Jesus says your bother will rise again and Martha replies, I know that he will rise again on the last day, still not understanding what Jesus is telling her.