I assume that a pilot on the pilot track "dies" when his home country surrenders or is conquered? The rules explain in great detail what happens if a pilot is in an airplane in his home country during conquest, but not what happens to pilots on the pilot track.
It seems reasonable that they should die, however ...
I've played (right or wrong) that pilots on the track survive to fight.
Since the rules say:
PiF option 28: You also lose the pilots in those aircraft and on the Production Circle.
they appear to exclude pilots on the track. So under my interpretation players that keep Poland alive at the end of the first turn can turn in their plane and get the pilot.