Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Shadowrift» Forums » Rules

Subject: Monster ongoing effect - when does it start? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Thomas PDX
United States
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/869710/individual-card-descr...

For Imps (Demons), the ongoing effect applies "including the round they enter play".

What about other monsters such as Blackshard Corruptor and Mar'Zose? Does their ongoing effect also apply when they are on the "Start" card?

What about the Master Celebrant? Does the "monster attack area" refer to cards 1,2 and 3, or does it also include the Start card?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Anderson
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
The monster attack area refers to 4 spaces: Start, 1, 2, and 3.

Ongoing effects are in effect from the moment the monster enters play.

This applies to all such ongoing effects. In the Fire Dragons, there are two that come to mind: Ash Eater, who renders heroes unable to attack unless they first remove their Burns, and Hoard Squatter, who raises the cost of Coin.
None of these effects wait until the monster moves off of the Start space. They all start as soon as it you spend the monsters' power points and buy the monster from the top of the monster deck.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Curran
United States
Ypsilanti
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Do the ongoing effects end if the monster leaves town and enters the power area?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Anderson
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Yes. Treat monsters in the Power Area as if they have no text at all.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.