Jay Noble
United Kingdom
Newbury
Berkshire
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

I've been lurking on the site for a while trying to find what I'm after, and finally registered to hopefully get some advice. I'm pretty new to gaming, and am looking to get a couple of friends involved. The problem I have is that whilst I like games such as Last Night on Earth they have low attention spans and a reluctance to play anything where explaining the rules takes more than a minute or two!... They consider stuff like Magic as 'extremely dull'!

So, I'm looking for some games for 2+ players that are:

- Fast paced (anything from a few minutes per round / game up to 60mins or so)
- Easy to pick up, but not too concerned with complexity level
- Competitive or Co-Op
- The most important thing is that ideally the competitive games will have a high level of cut-throat screwing over the opponent
- One-off purchase (no deck building TCG type stuff - but expansions are OK)
- Theme doesn't really matter, Sci-Fi, fantasy, horror, it's all good
- Must be suitable for 2 players, but can scale to 4+
- Don't mind format - dice, card, board etc

The kind of games I have been looking at are:
Zombie Dice (fast paced and could be made into a drinking game)
Muchkin (although I notice it is 3 players+)
King of Tokyo (although seems geared towards 3 / 4+ players)

I have also played the following on iPad and liked them a lot, but wondering if they are worth buying the board games:
Small World (really like this game!)
Elder Signs
Ticket to Ride
Forbidden Island

Thanks in advance!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charlie Theel
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Android: Netrunner - Cut-throat cat and mouse game where you probe defenses with the runner, and try to sucker the runner into a trap or stone-wall him out as the Corp. Very awesome, fast-paced, 2 player only.