Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Merchant of Venus (second edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Assigning dice when encountering a warp gate rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
/|\ Roland /|\
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We, in our very first game of MofV, interpreted the rules around this as:

If you had a gate appear because of a drawn encounter card, you got to immediately assign an unused die to navigation to control the outcome as to where you get spit out, or bypass it altogether if your die didn't match an existing gate on the board.

If you encounter a gate that is already placed on the board from a previous turn, or printed on the board, you are then subject to whatever value die, if any, was already assigned to navigation on your player board before you started movement.

Does this sound right? What say you BGGers?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Encountering a new gate from an encounter card is handled the same way as flying over an existing gate:

1) If you have a number already assigned to navigation, you go to that gate instantly; if that gate is not on the board (or it is the one you are already on), you just continue moving as normal.
2) If you don't have a number already assigned:
2a) You can choose to assign one at this time, and teleport to that gate. (Or, if you choose a number that is not on the board or that you are already on, you just keep moving)
2b) You can choose NOT to assign a die, and roll the purple die, going to the telegate matching that number (with the same exceptions as above).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tomas Inguanzo
United States
Miami
Florida
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
sigmazero13 wrote:
Encountering a new gate from an encounter card is handled the same way as flying over an existing gate:

1) If you have a number already assigned to navigation, you go to that gate instantly; if that gate is not on the board (or it is the one you are already on), you just continue moving as normal.
2) If you don't have a number already assigned:
2a) You can choose to assign one at this time, and teleport to that gate. (Or, if you choose a number that is not on the board or that you are already on, you just keep moving)
2b) You can choose NOT to assign a die, and roll the purple die, going to the telegate matching that number (with the same exceptions as above).


Don't forget that you must choose 2b if you already assigned the maximum number of dice allowed by your pilot level.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
/|\ Roland /|\
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Perfect, exactly how we played it, thanks all! Scenario 1 was the main point of contention, but that is resolved by the fact that once a die is placed it cannot be removed or replaced during the turn, thus you cannot jump from Scenario 1 to Scenario 2b to resolve it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.