Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

DC Comics Deck-Building Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Cheetah's ability rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
EnderWizard
United States
Niskayuna
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Cheetah's ability states "gain any card with cost 4 or less from the line-up." Does that mean the player can snag EVERY card in the line-up with cost 4 or less? Or does it mean just one card? She doesn't have a very high cost nor worth a lot of Victory Points so I'm more apt to agree with her only being able to gain just one card.

Thoughts?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Knutson
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think probably the word "any" is usually used to mean "any one".
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Mosley
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ChronoRogue wrote:
I think probably the word "any" is usually used to mean "any one".


I agree with this statement.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
EnderWizard
United States
Niskayuna
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's what we figured. We assumed if it meant otherwise it would say "every."
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jarrod Babel
United States
Terre Haute
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ender Wiggin wrote:
That's what we figured. We assumed if it meant otherwise it would say "every."


correct
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathaniel Yamaguchi
msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Any one card is correct.

(DC DBG Tester)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Cuthbert
Scotland
Dunfermline
Fife
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Am I right in saying the card you gain goes straight into discard pile?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam O'Brien
United States
Raleigh
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Even Cleverer Overtext
badge
Every time someone activates this overtext, it takes a year off my life. Hover often please!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
papafuzzylugs wrote:
Am I right in saying the card you gain goes straight into discard pile?


Yes, any time you gain/acquire/defeat a card it goes to discard.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
b d
msg tools
I would like to propose a counter argument of interpretation, while i accept that the play tester probably has the best answer as to what the intended meaning was.

I disagree with this statement.
ChronoRogue wrote:
I think probably the word "any" is usually used to mean "any one".


examples:
"The tazmanian devil destroys any object in his way"
or
"Homer Simpson will eat any junk food on his plate"

I wouldn't expect either of those to be "any one"

I disagree with this statement.
EnderWizard wrote:
That's what we figured. We assumed if it meant otherwise it would say "every.".


I would assume if they didn't mean any or every, they would have said "a" or "one".
If they had realized it was unclear they would have used a different word, it can't be assumed that they would have used a different word when they didn't realize it was unclear.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trent Reznor
msg tools
mb
Cheetah is way to cheap already for what she does, even if you pick only one card. Having her take all cards with a cost of 4 or less would be ridiculous. She would have to cost at least 5 or 6 if she could do that.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Newell
Canada
Prince George
British Columbia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My daughters (9 and 12) have really taken to this game. We've been playing Cheetah that she takes ALL cards. Other cards in the deck specifically state "a" card, and this one does not. Yes I agree she is crazy low cost for such a power, but she can also help out with a run away leader issue if she gets into the hand of a player that is behind. We've actually had her come out and there are no 4 point cards on the table so she becomes useless.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Hyra
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
LFITQ wrote:
My daughters (9 and 12) have really taken to this game. We've been playing Cheetah that she takes ALL cards. Other cards in the deck specifically state "a" card, and this one does not. Yes I agree she is crazy low cost for such a power, but she can also help out with a run away leader issue if she gets into the hand of a player that is behind. We've actually had her come out and there are no 4 point cards on the table so she becomes useless.


That's cool if the card has worked as a catch-up for your games. Don't change what works!
Just as an FYI for future card reading: If a card gains "all" of something, it would be written like:

Gain all cards with cost 4 or less from the Line-Up.

Thanks,
Matt Hyra
Cryptozoic R&D
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fall Line
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Wonder womans ability says take all villains there is a difference between all and any any should mean one
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Hyra
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Any means one around here.

Thanks,
Matt Hyra
Cryptozoic R&D
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.