Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Android: Netrunner» Forums » Rules

Subject: Inside Job rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ian Toltz
United States
Boston
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
Your cat likes me more
badge
In brightest day / In blackest night / No evil shall escape my sight / Let those who worship evil's might / Beware my power--Green Lantern's light!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Does Inside Job cause you to ignore the outermost piece of ice, regardless of whether it's rezzed or not, or does it cause you to ignore the outermost rezzed piece of ice?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel B
Sweden
Kungsbacka
flag msg tools
128
badge
22
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You only encounter rezzed ICE

Inside Job wrote:
Make a run. Bypass the first piece of ice encountered during this run.


FAQ wrote:
1. The Runner initiates a RUN and declares the ATTACKED SERVER.
• If the attacked server has one or more pieces of ice protecting it, go to [2]. If the attacked server does not
have ice protecting it, go to [4].

2. The Runner APPROACHES the outermost piece of ice not already approached on the attacked server.
2.1
2.2 The Runner decides whether to continue the run.
...Either the Runner JACKS OUT: go to [6] (cannot jack out if this is the first ice approached this run)
...Or the Runner continues the run: go to [2.3]
2.3 Approached ice can be rezzed,
2.4 Players check to see if the approached ice is rezzed.
• If the approached ice is REZZED, go to [3]. If the approached ice is UNREZZED, the Runner
PASSES it: go to [2] if there is another piece of ice protecting the server, go to [4] if there is not
another piece of ice protecting the server.

3. The Runner ENCOUNTERS a piece of ice. (‘When encountered’ conditionals meet their trigger conditions)
3.1 Icebreakers can interact with the encountered ice,
3.2 Resolve all subroutines not broken on the encountered ice.
...Either the run ends: go to [6]
...Or the run continues: if there is another piece of ice protecting the server, go to [2]; if there is not
another piece of ice protecting the server, go to [4].

4. The RunnerAPPROACHES the attacked server.
4.1
4.2 The Runner decides whether to continue the run.
...Either the Runner JACKS OUT: go to [6]
...Or the Runner continues the run: go to [4.3].
4.3
4.4 The run is considered to be SUCCESSFUL. (‘When successful’ conditionals meet their trigger conditions)
4.5 Access cards, then go to [5].
• If an AGENDA is accessed, the Runner STEALS it. If a card with a TRASH COST is accessed, the
Runner may pay its trash cost to TRASH it.
• All accessed cards not stolen or trashed are returned to the server in their previous states.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jordan Hall
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
It says to bypass "the first encountered ice" in a run.

You only "encounter" rezzed ice during a run.

Hope that helps!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lou Lessing
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It ignores the first piece of ice that you would normally have to break subroutines on.

If there is unrezzed ice that is encountered before any rezzed ice on the server, the corp has a chance to rez it. If they do, the first piece of ice they rez will be skipped.

If the server goes RezzedA-RezzedB-Agenda, the runner skips RezzedA.
If the server goes UnrezzedA-RezzedB-Agenda, the corp can rez UnrezzedA. If they do, it is skipped and the runner encounters RezzedB. If not, the runner skips RezzedB.
If the server goes UnrezzedA-UnrezzedB-Agenda, the corp can rez either, both, or neither of them. If the corp rezzes one piece of ice, it will be skipped. If they rez both, the runner with skip A but encounter B.

Make sense?
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Toltz
United States
Boston
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
Your cat likes me more
badge
In brightest day / In blackest night / No evil shall escape my sight / Let those who worship evil's might / Beware my power--Green Lantern's light!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Noah D

Arlington
Virginia
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
brisingre wrote:
It ignores the first piece of ice that you would normally have to break subroutines on.

If there is unrezzed ice that is encounteredapproached before any rezzed ice on the server, the corp has a chance to rez it. If they do, the first piece of ice they rez will be skipped.

If the server goes RezzedA-RezzedB-Agenda, the runner skips RezzedA.
If the server goes UnrezzedA-RezzedB-Agenda, the corp can rez UnrezzedA. If they do, it is skipped and the runner encounters RezzedB. If not, the runner skips RezzedB.
If the server goes UnrezzedA-UnrezzedB-Agenda, the corp can rez either, both, or neither of them. If the corp rezzes one piece of ice, it will be skipped. If they rez both, the runner with skip A but encounter B.

Make sense?


Great overview! but you did have the one slip-up I wanted to correct
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ger Lot
Philippines
Manila
flag msg tools
Hmm. Scenario.

two pieces of ice, the first is unrezzed. The second is approached and both the first and second are rezzed.

The first is Chum, the second is neural katana.

Does the runner take 5 neural on account of a.Chum and b.Subroutines on neural not being broken?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benedetto Loffredo
Italy
Portici (NA)
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Scoce wrote:
two pieces of ice, the first is unrezzed. The second is approached and both the first and second are rezzed.


How??
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevor Schadt
United States
Glenshaw
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Scoce wrote:
Hmm. Scenario.

two pieces of ice, the first is unrezzed. The second is approached and both the first and second are rezzed.

The first is Chum, the second is neural katana.

Does the runner take 5 neural on account of a.Chum and b.Subroutines on neural not being broken?

The Runner must first approach the first piece of ICE (the Chum), at which point the Corp has the opportunity to rez it. If they choose not to do so, the Runner bypasses it and does not encounter it.

Even if the Corp were to decide to rez it later in the run, the Runner has already bypassed it and therefore not encountered it, which means none of the subroutines executed, which means the extra damage from Chum would not occur.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Scoce wrote:
Hmm. Scenario.

two pieces of ice, the first is unrezzed. The second is approached and both the first and second are rezzed.

The first is Chum, the second is neural katana.

Does the runner take 5 neural on account of a.Chum and b.Subroutines on neural not being broken?



The Corp may only rez a piece of ICE currently being approached. If the Corp declined to rez the first piece of ice (CHUM), then they have lost that opportunity.

The scenario presented is impossible.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ger Lot
Philippines
Manila
flag msg tools
Thank you for the clarification
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.