Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matthew Barber
United States
Richmond
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I am quite new to Wargames and have been thinking about investing into a naval wargame. I play with a group who had varied interests and expertise in games so I was interested in a game that can be played with a simple starter set of rules, and can then be made more in depth for games after we have some experience, or when playing with the more interested players.

I am mostly interested in Napoleonic/Nelsonian era warfare but would gladly consider WWI/WWII or any period if its a better fit for what I need simplicity-wise.

Pirates would be ok, too! arrrh
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
flag msg tools
Flying Colors

Tactical - ship on ship naval action.

1805: Sea of Glory

Operational - the campaign that historically resulted in Trafalgar.

both in print.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Moles
United States
Idaho Springs
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
For Age of Sail I've heard good things about Flying Colors. Tactical level game, but fairly low complexity and there are several expansions to add more scenarios and ships.

Edit: Beat me to itarrrh
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle Seely
United States
Carmel
IN
flag msg tools
badge
Winner of the C. Montgomery Burns Award for Outstanding Achievement in the Field of Excellence
mbmbmbmbmb

Tentatively scheduled for 1st Quarter 2013 are Rebel Raiders on the High Seas and Iron and Oak. Rebel Raiders looks to be strategic level ACW era, with a point-to-point map. Iron & Oak is tactical ACW, with an optional campaign. Both look very interesting.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Barber
United States
Richmond
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb