Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Noblemen» Forums » Rules

Subject: 2:1 Trade at Any Time rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Long
United States
Wilmington
DE
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I played my first game of Noblemen last night. It went pretty well and was well received by my group. We did have one question.

Can you do 2:1 at "any time" during your turn?

For example.

I take the Expand action to lay more tiles. I place a woods to get another tile and I didn't get the one I wanted. So I place another woods and still don't get the tile I wanted. So before I place my 3rd tile, can I trade 2:1 and then place the tile I just traded for?

We played that you could but I was thinking that seemed off to me.

Does anyone know the proper way to play the 2:1 rule?

The question came up because fo the "Easily Forgotten Rules" Section.
"At any time during your turn, you may trade 2 tiles for any 1 tile from
the bag."


Thanks!

Mark

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
The rules are clear you can do this any time during your action and any number of times under easily forgotten rules:

Quote:
At any time during your turn, you may trade 2 tiles for any 1 tile from the bag.


So since you only get one action at a time, "any time" to me represents splitting up that action as you have suggested.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Long
United States
Wilmington
DE
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the reply. It's clear in the easily forgotten rules part but I personally didn't feel it was as clear in the first section that describes it.
Quote:
Also, you may trade 2 tiles from behind your screen for any
1 Tile from the bag – you may do this any number of times
during your turn. (You may look into the bag to find the
tile you want, and you may abandon the trade if there is
no such tile in the bag.)


I took this to mean that you could do it any number of times but more of an in between sort of action not in the middle of an "Action". It does not mention "At Any Time" in this section.

But in the end, it sounds like we played it right then.

Thanks again!

Mark
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dwight Sullivan
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
Shall we play a game?
badge
Shall we play a game?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Maxwell_Finn wrote:
Can you do 2:1 at "any time" during your turn?

You may. Meaning before or after your action. The same as playing a scandal card.

But I recommend only trading 2:1 just before needing the tile you don't have.

Quote:

For example.

I take the Expand action to lay more tiles. I place a woods to get another tile and I didn't get the one I wanted. So I place another woods and still don't get the tile I wanted. So before I place my 3rd tile, can I trade 2:1 and then place the tile I just traded for?

What is slightly wrong here is you have to do your entire "Grow Estate" action before seeing what lands you draw.

Here is a quick overview of "Grow Estate"
1 - Choose how many lands you want to play
2 - put them in play
3 - then take any rewards; random lands for woods and forest, pounds for fields and farms, and the queen for a garden.

I hope this helps.

- Dwight
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Long
United States
Wilmington
DE
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Now that makes sense. We were playing the Expand rule wrong.

Thanks!

Mark
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
My Turn Yet?
United States
Kirkland
WA
flag msg tools
'80' maxlength='250'> </td> </tr> <tr> <td width="15%" align="right"><b>Avatar OverText</b></td> <td width="85%"> <input type="text" name="overtext[avatar]" value="My Turn Yet?
badge
30 Days, 0 plays
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As an Addendum to this:

Do I have to trade two of the same tiles (2 wood = 1 fountain) or can I trade different tiles (1 wood, 1 field = 1 fountain)?

I didn't see this in the rules anywhere.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth Jaffee
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
paigew wrote:
As an Addendum to this:

Do I have to trade two of the same tiles (2 wood = 1 fountain) or can I trade different tiles (1 wood, 1 field = 1 fountain)?

I didn't see this in the rules anywhere.

You may trade ANY two tiles for the 1 tile of your choice. They need not match.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.