Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Merchant of Venus (second edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Variable laser/shield question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bruce Gazdecki
United States
Lindsey
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
In the appendix, the description fo the variable laser includes the line

"The bonus gained from the Variable Laser cannot be
reduced to automatically pass laser hazards on the board."

The variable shield has a similar line related to shield hazards. What exactly does that mean? Is there a card or something that is affected based on your laser/shield levels?

Thanks.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bruiser419 wrote:
In the appendix, the description fo the variable laser includes the line

"The bonus gained from the Variable Laser cannot be
reduced to automatically pass laser hazards on the board."

The variable shield has a similar line related to shield hazards. What exactly does that mean? Is there a card or something that is affected based on your laser/shield levels?

Thanks.

If you fail a normal laser/shield check, you can lower your lasers/shields by one to continue moving.

What this line is saying is that if you are using Variable Lasers/Shields, and you fail the check, you can't lower the die assigned to that tech. IE, if you assigned a "2", you could not change it to a "1".

You can still lower your NORMAL lasers/shields, if you want.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruce Gazdecki
United States
Lindsey
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Ah, that makes sense. Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ivan Kosak
Croatia
Petrinja
Sisacko moslavacka zupanija
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks! Thats also bothers me till now whistle
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.