Warmachine Prime Mk II» Forums » General

Subject: best book(s) for 'fluff'? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
B'Cup x
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmb
So I'm new to this Warmachine/Hordes hobby but it's been a long time since Ive enjoyed a miniatures game and I decided to dive back in. I picked up the Warmachine 2 player battlebox and my girlfriend picked up the Hordes equivilant (with less persuassion on my part than I would have expected).

I've already painted up 25pts of Khador (battlebox + Widowmakers)and this is the army I intend to pursue (though I am REALLY tempted to get some Trollbloods down the line). With that said I will obviously be looking to get thier book, but I'm curioius as to what the ratio is of rules to fluff. I dont really care for the former as it all appears to be on the cards but I really want to learn about the Iron Kingdoms. Is the book worth it for the background alone? how many pages approx are there in the book?

Also what other books have good history/stories of the world? I'm guessing the main rulebook has a fair bit but as I've already got the rules I would prefer to look at other books first unless the corebook has significantly more fluff than those.

Hopefully someone can shed some light on this for me as Rules/Models wise Im falling a bit in love with the game x

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
"GAME OVER, MAN. GAME OVER!"
Denmark
Aarhus
Unwashed and somewhat slightly dazed...
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
There's a LOT of fluff/background in all PP rulebooks, and the army books, as well as some short fiction works. I would heartily recommend the Khador army book, my first indepth look at the Iron Kingdoms. And you're right about the full size rulebook, it has a great overview. The new rpg would probably serve you well too, and if fiction is your thing, PP has just announced that they'll start publishing novels.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Taylor
United States
Downers Grove
Illinois