msg tools
The Daemonette Morrslieb upgrade states as follows:

Quote:

When you summon a Daemonette into a region, you may take control of an opponent's Cultist in that region until the end of the turn.


In a recent game the following scenario happened:

Nurgle has a single cultist and no other follower in Kislev.
Slaanesh summons an upgraded Daemonette into this region, taking control over the Nurgle cultist.
Since the Nurgle player has no followers in the adjacent regions, is he still able to summon a figure to Kislev?

We debated a while how to interpret the effects of "take control".
The rules state, that to summon a follower...
Quote:
...the figure must be placed in a region where that Chaos Power already has a figure, or in a region adjacent to such a region.


So, how can "A player has the figure in the region" be interpreted in this context?
1. A player has control over the figure in the region.
2. A figure from the original follower set of the player's Chaos Power exists in the region.

In the end, we democratically house-ruled (3 to 2) for option 1, reasoned that the Nurgle player has lost control, and therefor cannot use its cultist as an anchor for summoning more followers to Kislev.

Since the question is far from being simple to answer, what does the board think?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David F
United States
Emeryville
California
flag msg tools
Luck in games, in measured doses, is the catalyst which enables shocking game-changers that you'll remember and talk about forever.
badge
Let the Lord of Chaos rule.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You were right.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Myers
United States
Midlothian
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmb
Agreed. To have access to a region for adjacency purposes, you need to control a figure in that region or in an adjacent region. This is well established in the base game where Slaanesh can use Soporific Musk as a way to gain access to new regions across the map. Only one player controls a figure at any time, and only the controller can use that figure to establish adjacency.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.