Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Talisman (Revised 4th Edition)» Forums » General

Subject: Is the Monk Overpowered? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jesse W.
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
Game-playing Meowstic
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's funny, because I'm pretty sure everyone has differing opinions on which characters are OP. That's just the way Talisman rolls.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mike mcginnis

Shelby Twp
Michigan
msg tools
Actually I just discovered that we missed something in the rules. He only adds his printed value. Not the bonus value of his craft. DAMN! I should have won that game!!! LOL!!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jesse W.
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
Game-playing Meowstic
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Um... Am I missing something, or did you delete your first post?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Magnus Berglund
Sweden
Upplands Vasby
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
There's nothing to see here.
Move on...
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ed Browne
United States
Terre Haute
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
suavemike wrote:
Actually I just discovered that we missed something in the rules. He only adds his printed value. Not the bonus value of his craft. DAMN! I should have won that game!!! LOL!!!


This rule is often overlooked. This makes a huge difference in his overall power, but he is still quite formidable.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rey Rey
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
Where in the rules does it state that it is only the printed value?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Hurp
United Kingdom
Aldershot
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I've not got the rulebook on me, but the important difference is the term 'Craft Value' which refers to your starting (printed) craft, not your current craft.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rauli Kettunen
Finland
Oulu
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Reynier wrote:
Where in the rules does it state that it is only the printed value?


"A character’s Strength can never drop below that character’s
Strength value (i.e., the number printed on the character card)." (p. 4)

"A character’s Craft can never drop below that character’s Craft
value (i.e., the number printed on the character card)." (p. 5)

Shockingly under headings Strength and Craft .

And Monk's card:



"craft value"
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Schott
Germany
Franconia
flag msg tools
designer
Ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu R'lyeh wgah'nagl fhtagn.
badge
Please fondle my bum.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We played it wrong all the time back then. surprise
We believed the monk firmly overpowered. Well. We don't play talisman so much anymore, anyway.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ed Browne
United States
Terre Haute
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Fabs wrote:
I've not got the rulebook on me, but the important difference is the term 'Craft Value' which refers to your starting (printed) craft, not your current craft.


I'm pretty sure it is also explained in one of the FAQs. Trust me as a former playtester on the game, this is the way it is supposed to be. It's also possible that this interpretation was changed when FFG took on the game because of the overpower issue.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.