Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Star Wars: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Focus tokens and Resource Generation rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
bbb ccc
Australia
flag msg tools
So I recently watched the video thing from FFG and they say something that is confusing...

7:17 - Star Wars™: The Card Game - Complete Tutorial @ YouTube

Is this saying that ALL focus tokens need to be cleared b4 you can gen resources again on that card? if you place 2 out of 3 (2/3) focus tokens on a resource card, it is exhausted until you clear ALL the tokens .. as in next turn you couldn't remove 1 token (1/3) and then gen 2 resources on it? (3/3) ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Casey Hughes
United States
West Des Moines
Iowa
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That is correct. Any card that has at least one focus token can not be used to take an action or generate resources.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dustin
United States
Kentucky
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
that is correct. If they have any focus tokens, you can't use them at all.

just another layer of depth and thought to give objectives when deck building.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Egan
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
houjix1138 wrote:
That is correct. Any card that has at least one focus token can not be used to take an action or generate resources.


Where in the rulebook is the can't take an action part?

I don't mean declare as an attacker/defender/strike I mean as action defined by the rules, such as a droids repair ability.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd Warnken
United States
Harrison
Ohio
flag msg tools
I'm not crazy. My mother had me tested.
badge
Happy grandfather!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ScottieATF wrote:
houjix1138 wrote:
That is correct. Any card that has at least one focus token can not be used to take an action or generate resources.


Where in the rulebook is the can't take an action part?

I don't mean declare as an attacker/defender/strike I mean as action defined by the rules, such as a droids repair ability.


Here is the section on exhausted units from page 27 of the rulebook:

Quote:
Exhausted
A card that is exhausted (i.e. has one or more focus
tokens on it) cannot be focused to pay for card effects,
cannot focus to strike, and cannot generate resources.
However, other card abilities of an exhausted card
may still be triggered, and its constant effects (if any)
are still active, as long as such abilities do not require
the card to focus, to be ready, or are not otherwise
prohibited by the card text.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leo Andrie
msg tools
Yeah, but according to that rule, you WOULD be able to do the action while exhausted, right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Casey Hughes
United States
West Des Moines
Iowa
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry, by an action I meant things that required focusing, not the Action keyword, although some of those do require focusing.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.