Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Trenches of Valor» Forums » Rules

Subject: Some Questions about the rules rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Julian Jimenez
United States
Antioch
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
What purpose do the dugouts serve if they are part of the scenario set up but do not award points?

Do they provide any benefit for the player controlling them?

Does line of site for range have to be in a straight line? Or can an attacking unit with a range of 4 located in hex 0403 attack a nuit in hex 0206?

Attacking a target that is in a trench gets a +1 drm when the attacking unit is outside the trench to make it more difficult?

Does the attacking unit add +1 also if both the target and attacker or in connected trenches but more than one space away? IE: one hex between instead of adjacent?

Which pieces would you use for New Zealand and Australians in the expansion?

You cannot move and attack with the same unit in a single turn correct?

Thanks
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pelle Nilsson
Sweden
Linköping
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Brewtal_Legend wrote:
What purpose do the dugouts serve if they are part of the scenario set up but do not award points?


Hidden deployment and/or slow down defenders (being in a dugout was rarely a good thing when there was a raid).

Quote:
Do they provide any benefit for the player controlling them?


Can't be attacked or identified. Again, they are usually not included in a scenario to help the defenders. Usually they want out asap.

Quote:
Does line of site for range have to be in a straight line? Or can an attacking unit with a range of 4 located in hex 0403 attack a nuit in hex 0206?


On mobile, no map here, so can not comment on specific hexes, but there is no LOS in thr game, you just count hexes any path you want.

Quote:
Attacking a target that is in a trench gets a +1 drm when the attacking unit is outside the trench to make it more difficult?


yes

Quote:
Does the attacking unit add +1 also if both the target and attacker or in connected trenches but more than one space away? IE: one hex between instead of adjacent?


+1 if not adjacent

Quote:
Which pieces would you use for New Zealand and Australians in the expansion?


British. Think there is a note of that?

Quote:
You cannot move and attack with the same unit in a single turn correct?


Only with the help of a leader.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Julian Jimenez
United States
Antioch
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Thanks for clearing up those questions.

I looked all over the expansion rules but saw no mention of which pieces to use for Australia and New Zealand.

So Hidden units in a dugout cannot be revealed by the opposing player?

And a unit inside a dugout cannot be attacked at all by the opposing player?

Does it cost extra mp to leave a dugout?

Thanks again.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pelle Nilsson
Sweden
Linköping
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Brewtal_Legend wrote:
Thanks for clearing up those questions.

I looked all over the expansion rules but saw no mention of which pieces to use for Australia and New Zealand.


The British ones. Looked through the rules and I think you are correct that there is no mention of that (unfortunately). The same counters are used for the Americans as well.

Quote:
So Hidden units in a dugout cannot be revealed by the opposing player?


Correct.

Quote:
And a unit inside a dugout cannot be attacked at all by the opposing player?


Correct. Although it is eliminated if the dugout is cleared. A unit is also rather useless while down in the dugout (it can't attack anything), so it is usually not a good idea to stay.

Quote:
Does it cost extra mp to leave a dugout?


It is a full turn of movement to emerge from a dugout. Same as revealing other hidden reinforcements.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.