Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Star Wars: X-Wing Miniatures Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Target Lock and firing arc rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Oliver
United States
North Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Once I have initiated a target lock on a ship does the opponent need to be in my firing arc for me to attack and use the targeting lock?

Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Canada
Winnipeg
Manitoba
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Koontz
United States
Folsom
California
flag msg tools
Yes, the enemy ship must be a valid target in order for you to fire upon it. You may aqcuire a target lock on any ship within range three of your ship, even if it is outside the firing arc of said ship, but it must be within the firing arc to shoot at it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ricardo Donoso
Brazil
RIBEIRÃO PRETO
Sao Paulo
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Unless you are using a secondary weapon (ion, torpedoes, missiles)
unless you are attacking with a turret.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lynch
United States
Brooklawn
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rdonoso wrote:
Unless you are using a secondary weapon (ion, torpedoes, missiles)


You have to have the target in your fire arc to shoot torpedoes and missles. Only the ion cannon has a 360 fire arc.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg
United States
Lowell
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
tomlynch wrote:
rdonoso wrote:
Unless you are using a secondary weapon (ion, torpedoes, missiles)


You have to have the target in your fire arc to shoot torpedoes and missles. Only the ion cannon has a 360 fire arc.


+1
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ricardo Donoso
Brazil
RIBEIRÃO PRETO
Sao Paulo
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yepe, you are right, only turrets have 360 arc.

rulebook page 18 wrote:

In addition to being inside the attacker’s firing arc,
the closest point of the target ship’s base must fall
within the weapon range shown on the card (see
“Upgrade Card Anatomy” below). If both of these
conditions are met, then the player rolls the number
of attack dice equal to this card’s attack value
(instead of the ship’s primary weapon value).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.