Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Archipelago» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can I use explorer tokens for actions on the domestic market? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
M. S.
Germany
Illerkirchberg
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

another question: May I use explorer tokens instead of ressource tokens for actions at the domestic market? For example: I convert the explorere token to a fish token and sell this token in the domstic market..

Regards
Mario
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Etherton
United States
Carlsbad
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
An explorer token can be turned
into a single resource cube of
any type during the resolution of a
crisis. The explorer token is then removed from the game
(do not put it back on the explorer token piles).
An explorer token can only be converted during a crisis
or when a player performs an action requiring one or more
resources
. A resource so obtained contributes towards the
action’s resource requirement, including selling that same
resource
. Multiple explorer tokens can be converted into
resources during the same action or crisis.


English rules are pretty clear on this. I think they're worded that way so that people don't try to convert them to real resources from the bank, which may prevent somebody else from harvesting them or counting them for a VP condition.

-Dave
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Etherton
United States
Carlsbad
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
...although there's an edge case where if you want to sell that fish to the market, but there's no fish in the bank to actually put there, you wouldn't be able to do it, since resources are strictly limited to what's in the box.

Which I suppose exposes another situation... what if you wanted to use the token to represent stone to build a building but there's no stone in the bank? I'd argue you *could* do it in that case.

-Dave
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M. S.
Germany
Illerkirchberg
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Dave,

thnx for your feedback.
So actually we also played it this way but I wasn`t sure about it...but I will also play it the way you just described.

Regards
Mario
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marek Cz
Poland
Wrocław
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
An explorer token can be turned
into a single resource cube of
any type during the resolution of a
crisis. The explorer token is then removed from the game
(do not put it back on the explorer token piles).
An explorer token can only be converted during a crisis
or when a player performs an action requiring one or more
resources
. A resource so obtained contributes towards the
action’s resource requirement, including selling that same
resource
. Multiple explorer tokens can be converted into
resources during the same action or crisis.


OK - I was reading that part like 10 times and still have no clear answer :/

1. I am performing an exotic Fruit sell Transaction on a local market (rules: an action requiring one or more resources / in this case resource required: Exotic Fruit - that I do not have at that moment)

2. So I am converting exploration token into exotic fruit and selling it immediately (Rules: A resource so obtained contributes towards the
action’s resource requirement -> So this is Fine / Rules: including selling that same resource -> So it is even more Fine )

So it looks like you actually can "sell exploration token".

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nate Walker
United States
North Andover
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
So many douchebags, so few bullets.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Myszaq36 wrote:
Quote:
An explorer token can be turned
into a single resource cube of
any type during the resolution of a
crisis. The explorer token is then removed from the game
(do not put it back on the explorer token piles).
An explorer token can only be converted during a crisis
or when a player performs an action requiring one or more
resources
. A resource so obtained contributes towards the
action’s resource requirement, including selling that same
resource
. Multiple explorer tokens can be converted into
resources during the same action or crisis.


OK - I was reading that part like 10 times and still have no clear answer :/

1. I am performing an exotic Fruit sell Transaction on a local market (rules: an action requiring one or more resources / in this case resource required: Exotic Fruit - that I do not have at that moment)

2. So I am converting exploration token into exotic fruit and selling it immediately (Rules: A resource so obtained contributes towards the
action’s resource requirement -> So this is Fine / Rules: including selling that same resource -> So it is even more Fine )

So it looks like you actually can "sell exploration token".



You're not selling the token, you're converting it into a cube and then selling the cube.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
X Shrike
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So if there are no cubes of the resource you want, in the bank, then you can't convert the token into that resource, correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tolle Colart
Belgium
Deurne
Antwerp
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
XShrike wrote:
So if there are no cubes of the resource you want, in the bank, then you can't convert the token into that resource, correct?

Since the resources in the bank are limited, I would think that you cannot convert the token at that time.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.