Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Pierce Question - Shields? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Renee Rose-Perry
United States
Long Beach
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I understand basic pierce.


In first edition shields were not armor and effected by pierce.
In Second edition the rules say:

On a Pierce attack, the attack ignores a number of [SHIELD SYMBOL] results generated by the defending player (either through their defense role or other abilities) equal to the rating of pierce.



Does other abilities mean shields?
Or is that not an ability cause it's an item?


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Nakamura
United States
Columbus
Mississippi
flag msg tools
http://www.destructoid.com/author.phtml?a=1364
badge
Darren@destructoid.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Pierce affects anything that generates shield icons.

Shields (the pieces of equipment) do not always grant extra shield icons. Shield of the Dark God, for instance, only allows rerolls of defense dice. However, if you are using one of the other shields and you exhaust it in order to add 1 shield icon to the defense result, then those can be affected by Pierce.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Hancock-Parmer
United States
Bloomington
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
History Professor; Interested in Co-op Dungeon Crawler Design
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Perhaps you mis-typed. In Descent First Edition, Shields were not armor and thus were Not affected by Pierce. In other words, if something hit a hero with 3 armor with an attack that did pierce 5 and 2 wounds, and that hero had a shield to exhaust in order to cancel 2 wounds -- the hero would take no damage if they exhausted their shield. In other words, the additional pierce would not affect their shield.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rom Brown
New Zealand
Gisborne
flag msg tools
Live Fast. Love Hard. Die With Your Mask On.
badge
True-Man's come home! ...and he IS the storm!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, "other abilities" does include shields, or any other items, skills or effects that would generate "defence" icons.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.