Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Agents of SMERSH» Forums » Rules

Subject: Dr. Lobo track advancement ?'s rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Peter O
United States
Morris
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Does the Dr. Lobo track only advance when:

A.) Resting playing a solo game, rolling blue die, drawing villain card on a failure

B.) Drawing villain card for a failed encounter

You never draw a villain card for a failed Henchman encounter correct? You just apply the failed henchman effects only?

End of Turn villain cards are discarded after applying the end of turn event effects?

Just wanna make sure I'm playing everything correctly.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Kayati
United States
Worthington
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I've not played solo at all, but I've been playing the Henchmen location encounters as a failed encounter for advancing the villain track.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert F-C
Australia
Sydney
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The Villain track is advanced due to Villain Advancement card draws.

Not all Villain Advancement card events advance the track (some move it back).

Villain Cards (for Villain Advancement) are drawn when:
a) you take too many injuries
b) you fail a Book or Card Encounter (but not a Henchman Encounter) unless it says otherwise
c) when resting and playing solo and you roll a failure on a Blue Die.

Hope that helps. See also here.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Kayati
United States
Worthington
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
WhereAreTheBlackDice wrote:
The Villain track is advanced due to Villain Advancement card draws.

Not all Villain Advancement card events advance the track (some move it back).

Villain Cards (for Villain Advancement) are drawn when:
a) you take too many injuries
b) you fail a Book or Card Encounter (but not a Henchman Encounter) unless it says otherwise
c) when resting and playing solo and you roll a failure on a Blue Die.

Hope that helps. See also here.


I hope that I've been playing it wrong then, since I'm finding the game too difficult. Could you point me to the section of the rules that says you don't draw a Villain Advancement card for failed Henchmen Enconters?

Your compact rules are excellent, but I'd love to see it get a 100% thumbs up from Jason.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter O
United States
Morris
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
WhereAreTheBlackDice wrote:
The Villain track is advanced due to Villain Advancement card draws.

Not all Villain Advancement card events advance the track (some move it back).

Villain Cards (for Villain Advancement) are drawn when:
a) you take too many injuries
b) you fail a Book or Card Encounter (but not a Henchman Encounter) unless it says otherwise
c) when resting and playing solo and you roll a failure on a Blue Die.

Hope that helps. See also here.



Thanks, that's exactly how I've been playing it.

Would still be cool to hear Jason chime in on this one too.

Amazingly my first game Dr. Lobo's track didn't advance once. I never failed a single encounter. Top Secret rewards (drawing an extra every time due to the afro guy spy's ability) and Status cards from passing encounters led me to manipulate dice and just discard top secret cards to pass failed encounters. I only got injured twice, so I never had to draw a villain card. Location track got to 3, I was playing solo, and Dr. Lobo's track didn't even advance once.

Immediately played a second game. Dr. Lobo's track advanced all the way to 9,

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Beller
United States
Coldwater
Michigan
flag msg tools
Where does the rules state to draw a Villain Advancement card when resting and playing solo, then rolling a failure on the blue die? I have looked and I cannot find it.

Thanks

Chris
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.