Subject: Variant to round up the civilization aspect rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tiberiu Doman
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
La Citta is an older game that I started playing recently. The game has a couple of innovation that make it thematic and increase player interaction without diminishing the euro feel of the game.
The game also feels very much like a civilization game - even without a tech tree. The population and food production grows, the cities expand and the three development tracks (art, education and health) increase.

That being said, the game feels quite unfinished. The initial placement can have a big impact on the score, there are no alternatives for some required developments and the incentive for growing your cities can actually die down in the middle of the game.

Here are the changes that we used in order to "round up" the game:

1) Gameplay:
- For 2 players, we added an extra turn in the beginning, without the "voice of the people" cards.
- Use a "flushing the political cards" variant where the cards are shifted down and a card is removed every time the players use their action card.

2) Buildings:
I added some "upgrades" to existing buildings instead of creating my own. The upgrade works by simply placing a gold coin on top of the build when you build it (so it costs one more gold). The buildings still have the same number of arches.
Marketplace: if built next to water and with a GC on top, it becomes a fish market which provides 2 food.
Palazzo: becomes Sanatorium which allows the city to expand beyond 8 and it does not need to be next to water.
Cathedral: will add Bakery which allows conversion of 1 GC to 3 food each turn.
University: will add Apprenticeship which allows conversion of 2 food to 1 gold each turn.

3) Winning conditions
Winning conditions change:
- Get 3 VPs for each combo of arches (black/blue/white) in each city. This provides more incentive for development.