Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Saints in Armor» Forums » Rules

Subject: Whoom! at Wimpfen rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jonathan Squibb
United States
Camp Hill
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
The rules for Wimpfen say to roll for explosions when 2 Catholic two-hex infantry units are adjacent to the pike wagons, then to keep rolling until an explosion happens or the game ends. Does the initial condition still have to be true to roll, or does the wagon become a time bomb even if the Catholics have been pushed back from the wagons?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Berg Asklev Hansen
Denmark
Vejle
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think You only roll on those turns where the catholics are adjecent, but I better check it when I come home, as there is nothing worse or more confusing than a designer that gives the wrong answers to rules questions
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Berg Asklev Hansen
Denmark
Vejle
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I talked to David to confirm this and my ruling above was correct. You only roll on those turns where the catholic HI are adjecent.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Ekberg
Sweden
Malmö
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What Brian said. I haven´t received my game yet so I can´t see if the wording of the special rule is vague. But roll when and if at least 2 Catholic units are adjacent.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Squibb
United States
Camp Hill
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Thank you for the replies. The Protestants won my first play-through handily, in part because they didn't explode.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Ekberg
Sweden
Malmö
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sounds historical, Baden could still have won when the powder wagon exploded.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
beresford dickens
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I say you chaps, a powder wagon has just exploded in my bedroom and uncovered a few questions:

1. If both hexes of a two-hex unit are in range, is it affected once or twice?

2. If a Hedgehog is in range, does the Formation Hit have any effect on it?

3. is there any effect on Leaders?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Berg Asklev Hansen
Denmark
Vejle
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) once

2) no

3) no

I hope you are enjoying the scenario!

Good luck cleaning up in your bedroom after the explosion
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
beresford dickens
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry, here's another case. What if an Open Order unit is within range?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.