Subject: A good sibling of chess - caters to casual players rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Christoph Brinkmann
United States
Machesney Park
Illinois
flag msg tools
I have played chess for no fewer than 15 years of my life. I am no chessmaster, I am no professional tournament player. I own the famed Chessmaster 9000 computer game, and I have spent many hours listening to the audio tutorials and the "annotated games" from Joshua Waizkin, an International Master (one step down from a Grand Master, the highest chess title) who has beaten IM's at a surprisingly young age. I am not one to study and memorize openings. When I play a game of regular chess, I open with a center pawn, I get my pieces out, I castle, and I look for oppurtunities. One of my main problems is that long-term analysis is not something I work on very much. As such, I am very cautious about sacrificing "material" (chess pieces) unless I am absolutely sure that the move will work. I am an aggressive player.

All that said, I recently got Chess 4 as a birthday present from my girlfriend Sara, (not her real name) who does not really like regular Chess. She knew I was looking for a 4-way chess set for years, yet could never really find an adequate one. Most that I saw on the internet showed flimsy, easily breakable plastic or ludicrously expensive sets that I would never bring out due to fear of breaking such a delicacy. The other problem was that many of the boards and/or pieces simply looked awful. But bless my sweetie pumpkin, she found a set that was firm plastic and cardboard, and at the same had a very good presentation.