Johan Grimm
United States
Ithaca
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey fellow board-game-a-holics!

A happy new year to you all, may you have countless hours of tabletop fun this year! I am seeking recommendations for a few games to help me round out a board game collection that I have been curating for the last six years. I have gone through spells of intense buying, and long expanses without. After having been burned by too many games I have arrived at a place where I am most interested in creating a solid game collection that can cater to any interest/mood I and my gamemates may desire, whilst ensuring that whatever hits the table is a superb game.

As board games are a highly subjective area, I am going to outline what I do and don't like in games, as well as share my current collection. Hopefully this will provide some insight to allow you wonderful game-gurus to make recommendations.

Ultimately I would like my collection to land somewhere in the 15-25 games range, which leaves room for 5-15 more games to join my collection.

WHO AM I?
I am a professional in his mid-twenties who almost exclusively plays with non-gamers. I never play at game stores, nor do I attend any sort of major game conventions. Instead, I have made a 'career' out of roping 'non-gamers' into playing these high-concept, thematic board games, and I have had great luck in doing so.

While I do use a few 'gateway games' (Settlers of Catan and Ticket to Ride) on those who seem to be wary, I usually pick a more complicated game that features a theme that I know my audience will enjoy. In the end, I find that theme is the biggest selling point with non-gamers, and fortunately it is something I enjoy myself.

WHAT MATTERS MOST

THEME